Fields > Governance

newsletter Subscribe to our newsletters
   
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
    sort list by title


Pesticides
Comment ignorer ce que l'on sait
Ignoring what we know
Jean-Noël Jouzel
Pesticides have long been the object of public policies that seek to guarantee that their toxic effects will not harm the human populations. Yet, over the last twenty-five years, data produced by a number of epidemiological studies conducted outside the marketing approval process give rise to questions about just how solid these guarantees are.



Planter le décor
Une sociologie des tournages
Setting the scene
A sociology of filming
Gwenaële Rot
Peppered with testimonies, documents, anecdotes, and glimpses into life on set, this book provides an unusual "backstage tour" of the cinema, through the eyes of a sociologist cinema-lover who has observed dozens of film shoots.



Trier, exclure et policer
Vies urbaines en Afrique du Sud et au Nigeria
Sorting, excluding and policing
Urban lives in South Africa and Nigeria
Laurent Fourchard
The major cities of South Africa and Nigeria have a reputation as dangerous, filled with slums and dominated by the black market. Little is known, however, about the ways in which populations are sorted, categorized and policed, in keeping with the methods of social and ethnic reification of apartheid and the colonial era.



Dictionnaire d'économie politique
Capitalisme, institutions, pouvoir
Dictionary of political economics
Capitalism, institutions, power
Colin Hay, Andy Smith
This dictionary provides a unique and pluralist synthesis of contemporary knowledge in political economics. From "Austerity" to “Work” to “The 2007 Financial Crisis”, political scientists, sociologists and economists define and discuss key concepts, theoretical perspectives, and societal controversies in this vast research area.



L'Etat, le promoteur et le maire
La fabrication des politiques du logement
The state, the investor and the Mayor
Manufacturing housing policy
Julie Pollard
Over the last twenty years, in order to continue to support construction – including of public housing – while limiting their investments, the state and municipalities have chosen to hand things over to investors. By making themselves dependent on investors, public actors run the risk of seeing themselves stripped of their ability for action.



La Démocratie des émotions
The Democracy of emotions
Loïc Blondiaux, Christophe Traïni
The practices of representative democracy that are being developed around the world, in order to involve citizens in decision making, are privileged sites for the expression of emotions. This book demonstrates how emotions are highly standardised in these new spheres of democracy.



Villes sobres
Nouveaux modèles de gestion des ressources
Frugal cities
New models of resource management
Dominique Lorrain, Charlotte Halpern, Catherine Chevauché
With environmental urgency facing us everywhere, innovative urban projects to reduce pollution and waste are emerging around the world. But how useful are these experiences on a global scale? Is it possible to make a town durable without being detrimental to its surroundings? This book sets out to explore these questions.



Métropoles en Méditerranée
Gouverner par les rentes
Mediterranean metropolis
Government by dividends
Dominique Lorrain
Beirut, Cairo, Algiers, Istanbul: have they become ungovernable? Are they too dense, too polluted, too unequal? By delving into the fabric of their networks and institutions, this book shows that the major difficulties of these towns reflect not the lack of government, but rather its specific forms.



Sphère publique, intérêts privés
Enquête sur un grand brouillage
Public sphere, private interests
Investigating the blurring of boundaries
Pierre France, Antoine Vauchez
By tracing the role the profession of business lawyer has acquired within the confines of the state and the market, the authors of this fascinating investigation explore the contours of this grey area at the edge of political and administrative institutions. What does this ascension cost us today, both politically and democratically ?



Le régime politique de l'Union européenne
4e édition mise à jour et augmentée
The political regime of the european union
4th edition updated and enlarged
Paul Magnette
Moving beyond traditional dichotomies and making compromise the main principle of European political life, this volume constitutes a genuine reference that allows us to better understand the challenges facing the European Union.



1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>

Connect with us

Domaines > Gouvernances

Qui pilote les sociétés contemporaines ? Que devient l'État ? Comment se recomposent les institutions ?  Comment définir l'intérêt général ? Ce domaine a pour objet les organisations publiques, les marchés, les acteurs collectifs, les entreprises, les mouvements sociaux impliqués dans les politiques publiques et l'enchevêtrement des régulations sociales, politiques et économiques.
Directeur de domaine: Patrick Le Galès / Pierre François




newsletter S'inscrire à nos newsletters
   
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>
    retrier par titre


Pesticides
Comment ignorer ce que l'on sait
Jean-Noël Jouzel
Une enquête sur les pesticides, en France et aux États-Unis, pour comprendre ce qui conduit les agences d'évaluation à ignorer volontairement certaines données scientifiques lorsqu'elles n'ont pas été élaborées selon les normes de la toxicologie réglementaire.



Planter le décor
Une sociologie des tournages
Gwenaële Rot
Émaillé de témoignages, documents, anecdotes, tranches de vie de plateau, voici un « envers du décor » cinématographique peu usuel, sous le regard d'une sociologue cinéphile qui a observé des dizaines de tournages.



Trier, exclure et policer
Vies urbaines en Afrique du Sud et au Nigeria
Laurent Fourchard
Dans cette réalité urbaine qui échappe à la planification -à Johannesburg, au Cap, à Lagos et à Ibadan, les quatre villes où l'auteur a enquêté-, individus et groupes sociaux modifient des pans essentiels de l'action publique par l’exclusion et la violence autant que par la négociation.



Dictionnaire d'économie politique
Capitalisme, institutions, pouvoir
Colin Hay, Andy Smith
Politistes, sociologues et économistes définissent et discutent les concepts clés, perspectives théoriques et controverses sociétales de l'économie politique, offrant avec ce dictionnaire une synthèse unique et pluraliste des connaissances actuelles sur ce vaste champ de recherche.



L'Etat, le promoteur et le maire
La fabrication des politiques du logement
Julie Pollard
Afin de continuer à soutenir la construction – y compris celle de logements sociaux – tout en limitant leurs investissements, l'État et les maires choisissent depuis vingt ans de « faire faire » aux promoteurs. Mais en se rendant dépendants des promoteurs, les acteurs publics risquent-ils pas de se voir dépossédés de la conduite de leur action ?



La Démocratie des émotions
Loïc Blondiaux, Christophe Traïni
Curieusement, la science politique s'est peu intéressée aux pratiques de démocratie participative, qui se multiplient à travers le monde afin d'associer les citoyens à la décision, hauts lieux d’expression des émotions. Pour combler cette lacune, les auteurs ont choisi de révéler le rôle essentiel dans ces nouvelles arènes de la démocratie.



Villes sobres
Nouveaux modèles de gestion des ressources
Dominique Lorrain, Charlotte Halpern, Catherine Chevauché
L'ouvrage présente un panorama d'expériences pionnières menées dans neuf métropoles de pays industrialisés et émergents, du Nord comme du Sud, et tente d'en dresser le bilan et de discerner des pistes de généralisation.



Métropoles en Méditerranée
Gouverner par les rentes
Dominique Lorrain
Trop denses, trop polluées, trop inégalitaires, Beyrouth, Le Caire, Alger, Istanbul sont-elles devenues ingouvernables ? En s'immergeant dans la fabrique de leurs réseaux et institutions, cet ouvrage montre que les difficultés majeures de ces métropoles reflètent non pas l'absence mais des modes spécifiques de gouvernement.



Sphère publique, intérêts privés
Enquête sur un grand brouillage
Pierre France, Antoine Vauchez
Cette passionnante enquête explore les contours de cette zone grise à la périphérie des institutions politiques et administratives : comment elle est née, comment elle a progressivement prospéré et ce qu'il nous en coûte aujourd'hui, politiquement et démocratique.



Le régime politique de l'Union européenne
4e édition mise à jour et augmentée
Paul Magnette
« Cette nouvelle édition de l'ouvrage de Paul Magnette, considérablement revue, donne une vision complète du processus d'intégration communautaire. » Le Monde diplomatique



1 2 3 4 5 6 >>>

Suivez-nous