L'Enjeu mondial.

L'Enjeu mondial.

Guerres et conflits armés au XXIe siècle
With Bertrand Badie, Thierry Balzacq, Laure Bardiès, Didier Bigo, Pauline Blistène, April Carter, Miguel Centeno, Daniel Compagnon, Frédéric Coste, Charles-Philippe David, Mathias Delori, Vincent Desportes, Daniel Deudney, Adrien Estève, Aude-Emmanuelle Fleurant, Eric Frécon, Frédéric Gros, Marine Guillaume, Ronald Hatto, Thomas Hippler, Bruno Latour, Thomas Lindemann, Benjamin Oudet, Benoît Pelopidas, Yannick Quéau, Frédéric Ramel, Alexis Rapin, Hew Strachan, Vicki Yang
Global issues
War and armed conflict in the 21st century

The arms race has begun again, nuclear one-upmanship continues, military interventions and terrorist attacks proliferate, combat has become more technological, and climate change provides a glimpse of an imminent war against nature… And yet we remain convinced that we are living the most peaceful period in human history. We continue to believe the promises, made at the end of the Cold War, of a perfectly pacified world.

Global issues focuses on the major interpretations of war as we know it, whether in the decline in inter-state conflicts, the continual normalization of states of emergency, or the transformation of the forms and spaces of combat. Using illustrated and annotated overviews, along with maps, interviews and debates with leading anglophone and francophone specialists, this volume presents cutting-edge research in conflict studies, which has renewed both instruments and concepts and helped to understand what causes war and what helps contain it.

Coproduced by the CERI Cartography Workshop and les Presses de Sciences Po, the "Global Issues" collection provides analysis by specialists, illustrated by clear and pedagogical maps, and color graphs of the latest data. Works in this collection are updated and enhanced at: www.sciencespo.fr/enjeumondial



Thierry Balzacq

Thierry Balzacq is a researcher and professor at the Fondation Francqui and holds the Chaire Tocqueville in Political Sciences of Security at the Université de Namur in Belgium.



Manuel de diplomatie
Manual of Diplomacy
Thierry Balzacq, Frédéric Charillon, Frédéric Ramel
The first manual of diplomacy every published in French, this book covers all aspects of the diplomatic institution of the 21st century. It also situates diplomacy within its historical evolution and presents its traditional aspects as well as its new forms of expression.



Théories de la sécurité
Security Theories
Critical approaches
Thierry Balzacq
Would critical approaches help thinking security? This is the bias of this book that highlights and discusses the contributions of critical approaches to our understanding of security.



Traité de relations internationales
Treatise of International Relations
Thierry Balzacq, Frédéric Ramel
Seeking to revive the ancient tradition of the treatise, this innovative volume hopes to simultaneously be a gateway to the discipline and a source of reference for all its relevant players: students, teachers, researchers, politicians, diplomats, experts and professionals working with international organisations and associations.











Also of interest

Faire la paix
La part des institutions internationales
Making Peace
The Role of International Institutions
Guillaume Devin

Series

Hors collection

Subjects

Geopolitics : International Relations
International field

Connect with us

L'Enjeu mondial.

L'Enjeu mondial.

Guerres et conflits armés au XXIe siècle

La course aux armements a repris de plus belle, la surenchère nucléaire se poursuit, les interventions militaires et attentats terroristes se multiplient, la technicisation des combats va croissant, le dérèglement climatique fait entrevoir l'imminence d'une guerre contre la nature… Et pourtant, nous restons convaincus de vivre l’âge le plus pacifique de l’histoire de l’humanité. Nous continuons de croire aux promesses, formulées avec la fin de la guerre froide, d’un monde totalement apaisé.

L’Enjeu mondial revient sur les grandes interprétations du fait guerrier, qu’elles privilégient la disparition des affrontements interétatiques, la normalisation à travers le prolongement sans fin des états d’urgence ou la transformation des modes et des espaces de combat. À l’aide de panoramas illustrés et chiffrés, de cartographies, d’entretiens et de débats avec les meilleurs spécialistes francophones et anglophones, il s’ouvre aux dernières avancées de la recherche sur la conflictualité, qui ont permis à la fois de renouveler les instruments de mesure et les concepts, de comprendre ce qui cause la guerre et ce qui aide à la contenir.

Coréalisée par le CERI, l’Atelier de cartographie et les Presses de Sciences Po, la collection « L’Enjeu mondial » propose les analyses de spécialistes illustrées de façon claire et pédagogique par des cartes et des graphiques en couleurs enrichies des données les plus récentes. Ses ouvrages sont complétés et actualisés sur : www.sciencespo.fr/enjeumondial



Thierry Balzacq

Thierry Balzacq est professeur de recherche de la Fondation Francqui et titulaire de la Chaire Tocqueville en politiques de sécurité à l'Université de Namur en Belgique.



Manuel de diplomatie
Thierry Balzacq, Frédéric Charillon, Frédéric Ramel
Premier Manuel de diplomatie en langue française, cet ouvrage aborde toutes les dimensions de l'institution diplomatique au XXIe siècle, en la situant dans son évolution historique et  en présentant ses aspects classiques comme ses nouvelles formes d'expression.



Théories de la sécurité
Thierry Balzacq
Bousculant les distinctions classiques guerre-paix, interne-externe, police-militaire, risque-sécurité, Thierry Balzacq examine ce que la théorie critique, le constructivisme, le poststructuralisme et le féminisme ont apporté aux études de sécurité.



Traité de relations internationales
Thierry Balzacq, Frédéric Ramel
Portant l'ambition de renouveler la tradition ancienne du traité, cette somme inédite en langue française se veut à la fois la porte d'entré de la discipline des relations internationales et sa référence pour tous les publics et acteurs concernés : étudiants, enseignants, chercheurs, diplomates, professionnels des associations internationales.











Nous Vous Suggérons Aussi

Les Champs de Mars 29
Les conséquences de la crise ukrainienne en Europe

Collection

Hors collection

Sujets

Géopolitique : Relations internationales

Suivez-nous