La Justice en procès

La Justice en procès

Les mouvements de contestation face au système pénal (1968-1983)
Justice on Trial
Protesting the Penal System (1968–1983)

Starting in May '68 and continuing throughout the 1970s, militant movements (feminist, gay, immigrant, radical left-wing and prisoners’ movements, etc.) caused a new critical practice to emerge with respect to the law and penal institutions.

The fifteen years that followed were marked by the politicisation of penal issues and by the splintering of activist positions on the question: should capitalist bosses be sent to prison? Should one fight against repression or go to court for the damages suffered? Should criminal law be challenged or more strictly applied? Should sanctions be strengthened against racist, sexist, sexual, homophobic, etc. hate crimes in order to recognise the seriousness of prejudice?

Jean Bérard offers us the untold story of the relationships between protest movements and the law, shining a light on their essential contribution to the development of criminal law and our contemporary penal system.

Jean Bérard


http://sites.google.com/site/sitejeanberard/home







Also of interest

Vingtième Siècle 101 (2009-1)
Dossier : Publicité et propagande
et al.

Series

Académique

Subjects

Fields : History
History field : History by subject
History
Law
Society

Connect with us

La Justice en procès

La Justice en procès

Les mouvements de contestation face au système pénal (1968-1983)

À partir de Mai 68 et au cours des années 1970, des mouvements militants (d'extrême-gauche, de prisonniers, de féministes, d'homosexuels, d'immigrés, etc.)font émerger une nouvelle pratique critique du droit et des institutions pénales.

Les quinze années qui suivent sont marquées par une politisation des questions pénales et par un éclatement des positions militantes en la matière : faut-il envoyer les patrons en prison ? Lutter contre la répression ou saisir les tribunaux des dommages que l'on subit ? Plaider contre la loi pénale ou pour son application ? Veut-on demander un renforcement des sanctions contre les agressions racistes, sexistes, sexuelles, homophobes, etc. comme signe de reconnaissance de la gravité des préjudices ?

Jean Bérard propose une histoire inédite des relations entre les mouvements contestataires et la justice, et apporte un éclairage sur leur contribution essentielle à l’évolution de la justice et du système pénal contemporains.

Jean Bérard


http://sites.google.com/site/sitejeanberard/home







Nous Vous Suggérons Aussi

Patron de Renault
Pierre Lefaucheux (1944-1955)
Cyrille Sardais

Collection

Académique

Sujets

Domaines : Histoire
Domaine histoire : Histoire par sujet
Droit
Histoire
Société

Suivez-nous