Méthodes de recherche en relations internationales

Méthodes de recherche en relations internationales

With Mélanie Albaret, Delphine Alles, Alice Baillat, Una Bergmane, Corentin Cohen, Milena Dieckhoff , Marie-Françoise Durand, Fabien Emprin, Auriane Guilbaud, Simon Hug, Delphine Lagrange, Thomas Lindemann, Marieke Louis, Lucile Maertens, Benoît Martin, Médéric Martin-Mazé, Delphine Placidi-Frot, Frédéric Ramel, Marie Saiget, Charles Tenenbaum, Vincent Tiberj
Research Methods for Studies in International Relations

To study international relations is to study social facts: trying to describe, interpret and compare these facts inevitably means that the researcher has to choose methods and tools with which to do this. Whilst there are numerous works which approach international relations from a theoretical standpoint, paradoxically there are far fewer which address the various ways to approach empirical research.

This book includes contributions from twenty or so researchers and teachers and suggests a wide range of useful data, resources, and methods for undertaking methodologically rigorous research on international relations. It contains critical reflections on how to construct and make use of databases, how to conduct interviews, how to map results, how to analyse speech and images, and how to use various quantitative methods.

A practical handbook for researchers, this book will also be valuable to a wider audience which is interested in studies of international relations and wonders quite properly how 'experts' reach their conclusions.

Benoît Martin

Benoît Martin is cartographer with the Science Po cartography workshop.



Atlas de l'Anthropocène
The Atlas of the Anthropocene
Preface by Jan Zalasiewicz, postface by Bruno Latour
François Gemenne, Aleksandar Rankovic, Thomas Ansart, Benoît Martin, Patrice Mitrano, Antoine Rio
Climate change, the collapse of biodiversity, demographic evolution, urbanization, atmospheric pollution, soil deterioration, natural disasters, industrial accidents, public health crises, social unrest and mobilization – this is the first atlas that brings together all the data available on the ecological crisis our world is facing.



Atlas de la mondialisation
Comprendre l'espace mondial contemporain - Dossier spécial États-Unis
Globalization Atlas. Special focus : The United States
Marie-Françoise Durand, Thomas Ansart, Philippe Copinschi, Benoît Martin, Patrice Mitrano, Delphine Placidi-Frot
More than just an atlas, this work is a true toolbox. Acessible and instructional, the atlas describes the dynamic paradoxical changes essential for a full comprehension of globalization processes, with a special report on United States.



Atlas de la mondialisation 2010
Comprendre l'espace mondial contemporain - Dossier spécial Russie
Atlas of Globalization
Special report on Russia
Marie-Françoise Durand, Philippe Copinschi, Benoît Martin, Patrice Mitrano, Delphine Placidi-Frot
More than just an atlas, this work is a true tollbox. Acessible and instructional, the atlas describes the dynamic paradoxical changes essential for a full comprehension of globalization processes, with a special report on Russia.



Atlas de la mondialisation 2009
Comprendre l'espace mondial contemporain - Dossier spécial Brésil
Globalization Atlas
To understand Contemporary World Space - Special report on Brazil
Marie-Françoise Durand, Philippe Copinschi, Benoît Martin, Delphine Placidi-Frot
New design, new maps, new graphics and a special report on Brazil! Acessible and instructional, the Atlas describes the dynamic paradoxical changes essential for a full comprehension of globalization processes. Translated in Chinese, Portugese, Spanish



Atlas de la mondialisation 2008
Comprendre l'espace mondial contemporain - Dossier spécial Chine
Globalization Atlas
Special Report on China
Marie-Françoise Durand, Philippe Copinschi, Benoît Martin, Delphine Placidi-Frot
More than an atlas, this book is a veritable tool box. Special focus on China : Comprised of maps, graphics and never before seen texts, this special report on China helps decode the issues of current upheavals.





Contributions:

Les bonnes pratiques des organisations internationales
The Best Practices of International Organisations
Asmara Klein , Camille Laporte, Marie Saiget
OECD, World Bank , UN Women .... all organizations are now calling for "good practice" to improve their action, train their staff, improve their expertise and thereby legitimize their presence on land increasingly competition from non-state actors.









Also of interest

Critique internationale 85, octobre-décembre 2019
La fabrique et le gouvernement des crises

Series

International Relations

Subjects

Geopolitics : International Relations
International field

Connect with us

Méthodes de recherche en relations internationales

Méthodes de recherche en relations internationales

Étudier les faits sociaux que sont les relations internationales, tenter de les décrire, de les interpréter, de les comparer, demande immanquablement au chercheur d'effectuer un choix de méthodes et d'outils. Or, paradoxalement, alors que les ouvrages théoriques traitant des relations internationales sont relativement nombreux, la présentation des divers moyens de l'enquête empirique demeure peu développée.

Cet ouvrage réunit une vingtaine de chercheurs et d’enseignants et offre un panorama de données, de ressources et de méthodes utiles pour mener une recherche sur les relations internationales et la fonder de la manière la plus rigoureuse possible.

On y trouvera une réfl exion critique sur la construction et l’usage des banques de données, sur la pratique des entretiens, sur le recours à la cartographie, sur l’analyse des discours et des images ou sur l’emploi de diverses méthodes quantitatives.

Guide pratique pour le chercheur, ce livre s’adresse aussi à un public plus général, intéressé par les études sur les relations internationales et qui se demande légitimement comment sont produites les conclusions des « experts ».

Benoît Martin

Benoît Martin est cartographe à l'Atelier de cartographie de Sciences Po.



Atlas de l'Anthropocène
François Gemenne, Aleksandar Rankovic, Thomas Ansart, Benoît Martin, Patrice Mitrano, Antoine Rio
Changement climatique, érosion de la biodiversité, évolution démographique, urbanisation, pollution atmosphérique, détérioration des sols, catastrophes naturelles, accidents industriels, crises sanitaires, mobilisations sociales, sommets internationaux… Voici le premier atlas réunissant l'ensemble des données sur la crise écologique de notre temps.



Atlas de la mondialisation
Comprendre l'espace mondial contemporain - Dossier spécial États-Unis
Marie-Françoise Durand, Thomas Ansart, Philippe Copinschi, Benoît Martin, Patrice Mitrano, Delphine Placidi-Frot
Une édition 2013 entièrement actualisée sur le fond comme sur la forme : données statistiques, graphiques, nouvelles cartes, nouveaux diagrammes sur des questions d'actualité, plus le dossier inédit sur les États-Unis. Indispensable !



Atlas de la mondialisation 2010
Comprendre l'espace mondial contemporain - Dossier spécial Russie
Marie-Françoise Durand, Philippe Copinschi, Benoît Martin, Patrice Mitrano, Delphine Placidi-Frot
"...la cinquième édition de cet atlas de la mondialisation est toujours l'occasion d'une découverte. Avec une réalisation très assurée, un format maniable, une très belle recherche iconographique […]. Un excellent outil de référence". Les clionautes



Atlas de la mondialisation 2009
Comprendre l'espace mondial contemporain - Dossier spécial Brésil
Marie-Françoise Durand, Philippe Copinschi, Benoît Martin, Delphine Placidi-Frot
Nouvelle maquette, nouvelles cartes, nouveaux graphiques et un dossier spécial totalement inédit sur le Brésil...



Atlas de la mondialisation 2008
Comprendre l'espace mondial contemporain - Dossier spécial Chine
Marie-Françoise Durand, Philippe Copinschi, Benoît Martin, Delphine Placidi-Frot
Véritable boîte à outils de la mondialisation, l'Atlas 2008 offre en supplément un cahier entièrement dédié à l'émergence de la Chine...





Collaborations intellectuelles ou scientifiques :

Les bonnes pratiques des organisations internationales
Asmara Klein , Camille Laporte, Marie Saiget
OCDE, Banque mondiale, ONU Femmes.... tous les organismes font aujourd'hui appel aux « bonnes pratiques » pour améliorer leur action, former leurs collaborateurs, renforcer leur expertise et, ainsi, légitimer leur présence sur un terrain de plus en plus concurrencé par les acteurs non étatiques.









Nous Vous Suggérons Aussi

Faire la paix
La part des institutions internationales
Guillaume Devin

Collection

Relations internationales

Sujets

Géopolitique : Relations internationales
International

Suivez-nous