Le régime politique de l'Union européenne

Le régime politique de l'Union européenne

4e édition mise à jour et augmentée
The political regime of the european union
4th edition updated and enlarged

The rejection of the Constitutional Treaty in 2005 by French and Dutch citizens, followed by the Irish "no" in 2008, and then Brexit in 2016, has plunged the European Union into a serious crisis. It has led to the resurgence of doubts and uncertainties as to its institutional nature, the distribution of powers, the role of citizens and opinions, and its ability to confront the global issues of today.

Understanding this crisis and its profound repercussions on the politics of member states requires us to confront the complexity of the Union, without exaggerating its scope. This book aims to provide evidence for the coherence and originality of the European political regime

It analyses the nature of the “federation of states” and shows how conflicts in competency are resolved within it and revisits the original institutional balance of the “community model” and the decision-making mechanisms it generates. It explores the “political life” that is sketched out in the Union and questions the ways in which this federation of states can become genuinely democratic.

Moving beyond traditional dichotomies and making compromise the main principle of European political life, this volume constitutes a genuine reference that allows us to better understand the challenges facing the European Union.




Also of interest

Les gouvernements New Labour
Le bilan de Tony Blair et de Gordon Brown
New Labour Governments
Tony Blair and Gordon Brown
Florence Faucher, Patrick Le Galès

Series

Références

Subjects

Europe : European Construction
Europe : European Countries
Europe : European Institutions
Europe : European Politics
International

Connect with us

Le régime politique de l'Union européenne

Le régime politique de l'Union européenne

4e édition mise à jour et augmentée

Le rejet du Traité constitutionnel européen en 2005 par les peuples français et néerlandais, suivi du « non » irlandais de 2008 et du Brexit de 2016, a plongé l'Union européenne dans une crise grave. Il a fait resurgir doutes et incertitudes quant à sa nature institutionnelle, à la répartition des pouvoirs, à la place des citoyens et des opinions et à sa capacité à faire face aux enjeux mondiaux actuels.

Comprendre cette crise, et ses répercussions profondes sur la politique des États membres, exige d'affronter la complexité de l’Union, sans en exagérer la portée. Ce livre a pour ambition de mettre en évidence la cohérence et l’originalité du régime politique européen.

Il analyse la nature de la « fédération d’États » et montre comment les conflits de compétence sont résolus en son sein. Il revient sur l’équilibre institutionnel original du « modèle communautaire » et sur les mécanismes de décision qu’il génère. Il se penche sur la « vie politique » qui s’ébauche dans l’Union et s’interroge sur la manière dont cette fédération d’États peut devenir pleinement démocratique.

Dépassant les dichotomies classiques et posant le compromis comme principe constitutif de la vie politique européenne, cet ouvrage constitue une véritable référence qui permet de mieux saisir les enjeux de l’Union européenne.




Nous Vous Suggérons Aussi

La France dans la nouvelle Europe
Assumer le changement d'échelle
Christian Lequesne

Collection

Références

Sujets

Europe : Construction européenne
Europe : Institutions Européennes
Europe : Pays Européens
Europe : Politiques européennes
Monde & sociétés

Suivez-nous