Le Vote normal

Le Vote normal

Les élections présidentielle et législatives d'avril-mai-juin 2012
Normal Votes
The Presidential and Legislative Elections of April, May and June 2012

The presidential and legislative elections that took place during April, May and June 2012 led to the expression of a 'normal vote'.
Normal, if we use the meaning that this word was given in the 1960s by the American political scientist Philip Converse: when no circumstantial political force abruptly turns voters against a victory that has been expected for several years (in this case, the Left’s victory).

Normal, in the sense that one of the presidential candidates, François Hollande, compared this political situation with the ‘abnormal’ or ‘non-standard’ behaviour of his successive challengers, Dominique Strauss-Kahn and Nicolas Sarkozy. Normal, finally, because 2012’s sanction vote dealt a major blow to both the outgoing president and his legislators, much like in other European countries also experiencing the crisis.

Will such political ‘normality’ be tenable over the course of a presidential term? Would a ‘normal presidency’ grow inopportune when its authority and majority rule ultimately face major difficulties and an unusual set of circumstances?

Thierry Vedel

Thierry VEDEL est chercheur CNRS au Centre de recherches politiques de Sciences Po (CEVIPOF).


Contributions:

Le Vote disruptif
Les élections présidentielle et législatives de 2017
The disruptive vote
The presidential and legislative elections of 2017
Pascal Perrineau
A process of creative destruction of a rare intensity swept through the French political system during the 2017 elections, comparable to a devastated battleground. After the storm, now comes the time for analysis and the first research results.



La démocratie de l'entre-soi
Pascal Perrineau, Luc Rouban
In this book, a team of researchers from CEVIPOF suggests that what is "common" is no longer based on what is public, but on what is private. That politics is now evolving in communitarian spaces of all kinds, family, religious denominations, political parties, oligarchies...



Continuerlalutte.com
Les partis politiques sur le web
keepfighting.comm
Political Parties on the Web
Fabienne Greffet
This book focuses on the evolution of campaigns and political activism online. ...). It offers an unprecedented overview of the uses of the Internet by the French parties compared to American, Italian and British parties.









Also of interest

Le Citoyen
Mélanges offerts à Alain Lancelot
The Citizen
Bertrand Badie, Pascal Perrineau

Series

Chroniques électorales

Subjects

Political Science : Political facts
Political Science : Political Life
Politics

Connect with us

Le Vote normal

Le Vote normal

Les élections présidentielle et législatives d'avril-mai-juin 2012

Les élections présidentielle et législatives d'avril-mai-juin 2012 ont abouti à l'expression d'un « vote normal ».

Normal, au sens indiqué dès les années 1960 par le politiste américain Philip Converse, quand aucune force politique de circonstance ne parvient à détourner le vote d'une victoire annoncée depuis plusieurs années, en l'occurrence celle de la gauche. Normal, parce que l'un des candidats à la présidentielle, François Hollande, a opposé cette posture politique au comportement « anormal » ou « hors normes » de ses challengers successifs : Dominique Strauss-Kahn et Nicolas Sarkozy. Normal, enfin, parce que le vote sanction de 2012 a frappé de plein fouet le législatif et l'exécutif sortants, comme dans tous les pays européens en crise.

Une telle « normalité » politique sera-t-elle tenable sur la durée de l'exercice présidentiel ? Une « présidence normale » est-elle une erreur de tempo dès lors que le pouvoir et sa majorité sont confrontés à des difficultés majeures et à une conjoncture hors du commun ?

Ont également contribué à cet ouvrage : Marilyn Augé • Pierre Avril • Daniel Boy • Frédérik Cassor • Bruno Cautrès • Flora Chanvril • Jean Chiche • Élisabeth Dupoirier • Odile Gaultier-Voituriez • Christine Gire • Gérard Grunberg • Jérôme Jaffré • Karolina Koc Michalska • Laurence Morel • Anne Muxel • Christophe Piar • Luc Rouban • Sylvie Strudel • Gauthier Vaillant • Thierry Vedel

Thierry Vedel

Thierry VEDEL est chercheur CNRS au Centre de recherches politiques de Sciences Po (CEVIPOF).


Collaborations intellectuelles ou scientifiques :

Le Vote disruptif
Les élections présidentielle et législatives de 2017
Pascal Perrineau
Le premier ouvrage à prendre l'indispensable recul pour analyser le scénario plein de rebondissements des élections 2017 et à donner des réponses inédites pour appréhender le nouveau cycle politique dans lequel nous venons d'entrer.



La démocratie de l'entre-soi
Pascal Perrineau, Luc Rouban
Fracture entre le peuple et les élites, inégalités sociales et sexuées, faiblesses de la démocratie participative, rejet du projet européen au profit du nationalisme, primauté de l'intime dans la construction de l'engagement politique et du lien citoyen, … Que nous disent ces signaux sur l'évolution de la démocratie en France ?



Continuerlalutte.com
Les partis politiques sur le web
Fabienne Greffet
Internet permet aux partis d'étendre leur champ d'action, de jouer des possibilités du réseau pour réinventer les façons de mobiliser, débattre, donner la parole aux citoyens ou concevoir une campagne. Un panorama français et international.









Nous Vous Suggérons Aussi

Le Vote européen 2004-2005
De l'élargissement au référendum français
Pascal Perrineau

Collection

Chroniques électorales

Sujets

Science politique : Fait politique
Science politique : Vie politique
Politique

Suivez-nous