L'état de l'Union européenne 2007

L'état de l'Union européenne 2007

L'Europe des biens publics
The state of the European Union 2007
The Europe of the public good

The debate about the European Constitution demonstrated that the French want to understand and to love Europe. This edition of The State of the European Union wagers that the year 2007 will be for the Union one of renewal, and of beginning afresh with a new foundation.

The context of 2007 is historic : Germany takes office from January to July, the fiftieth anniversary of the treaty of Rome (March 25, 1957) is celebrated, and France redefines its European focus after the elections.

This book means to contribute to the European reconstruction for which our country has hoped. This is why the book opens with a "Manifesto for the Public Good of Europe." In effect, the definition and the supply of the "European public good” (available work, development, progress in knowledge and of its transmission, public services, protection of the environment, energy independence) are otherwise more essential to the well-being of populations and to the future of the European vision than the scrupulous respect of doctrinal criteria of monetary and budgetary stability.

The several following chapters support, elaborate, and extend the analyses of the Manifesto. They set the scene for the European revival, while showing the limits and reconsidering the results of the referendums on the European Constitution in order to extract the collective preferences of Europeans on economic matters. Finally, these chapters propose a panorama of European structural politics, starting with the budget of the Union, which must be reformed in order to become an instrument for a new European progress.

This book is derived from efforts lead by a think tank directed by Jean-Paul Fitoussi and Jacques le Cacheux, at the heart of the OFCE. The participants were Jérôme Creel, David Laborde, Éloi Laurent and Georges Pujals.




Also of interest

L'Europe par le marché
Histoire d'une stratégie improbable
Europe by the Market
History of an Unlikely Strategy
Nicolas Jabko

Series

Coéditions

Subjects

Europe : European Construction
International field

Connect with us

L'état de l'Union européenne 2007

L'état de l'Union européenne 2007

L'Europe des biens publics

Le débat sur la Constitution européenne l'a montré : les Français ont envie de comprendre et d'aimer l’Europe. Cette édition de L’État de l’Union européenne fait le pari que l’année 2007 sera pour l’Union celle du renouveau, de la refondation.

Le contexte de 2007 est historique : l’Allemagne assumera la présidence de janvier à juillet, le cinquantième anniversaire de la signature du traité de Rome (25 mars 1957) sera célébré, la France redéfinira son projet européen après les élections.

Ce livre veut apporter une contribution à la reconstruction européenne tant espérée dans notre pays. C’est pourquoi il s’ouvre sur un «Manifeste pour l’Europe des biens publics». En effet, la définition et la fourniture de «biens publics européens» (plein emploi, croissance, progrès de la connaissance et de sa transmission, services publics, protection de l’environnement, indépendance énergétique) sont autrement plus essentielles au bien-être des populations et à l’avenir du projet européen que le respect scrupuleux de critères doctrinaux de stabilité monétaire et budgétaire.

Divers chapitres viennent ensuite étayer, préciser et prolonger les analyses du Manifeste. Ils dressent le tableau de la reprise européenne, en montrent les limites, et reconsidèrent les résultats des référendums sur la Constitution européenne pour en extraire les préférences collectives des Européens en matière économique. Enfin, ils proposent un panorama des politiques structurelles européennes, à commencer par le budget de l’Union, qui doit être réformé pour devenir l’instrument d’un nouveau progrès européen.

Cet ouvrage est issu des travaux conduits, au sein de l’OFCE, par un groupe de réflexion animé par Jean-Paul Fitoussi et Jacques Le Cacheux, auquel ont participé Jérôme Creel, David Laborde, Éloi Laurent et Georges Pujals.




Nous Vous Suggérons Aussi

Les conservateurs britanniques dans la bataille des idées
Ashridge College, premier think tank conservateur
Clarisse Berthezène

Collection

Coéditions

Sujets

Europe : Construction européenne

Suivez-nous