La grande transformation du capitalisme japonais (1980-2010)

La grande transformation du capitalisme japonais (1980-2010)


The Great Transformation of Japanese Capitalism (1980-2010)

Why has Japanese capitalism disappeared from our debates, when it had been put on a pedestal as a paragon during the 1980s? And how did a symbol of this model of enterprise like Toyota become the first in the world in its sector, despite the stagnation that suppressed the Japanese economy during the 1990s?

Does there exist an optimal model of business organization in Japan, and how could it maintain their technological advancement, even reinforce it, in an increasingly uncompetitive and uncertain environment? Can developing countries retain a comparative advantage in industries faced with the power of Chinese manufacturing, and what role does the educational system play in an "information" society? Finally, if the cycle of generalized deregulation has perhaps come to an end, how do we perceive the relationship between the state and the market and redefine the social contract in a context of rising inequalities?

This analysis of a profound transformation of Japanese capitalism from the perspective of economic policy, along with a reflection on the diversity of capitalisms and on institutional change, shows that Japan is still a subject of study capable of illuminating the big issues of the global economy.




Also of interest

Le Japon et la nouvelle Asie
Karoline Postel-Vinay

Series

Références

Subjects

International : Asia
Political Economics

Connect with us

La grande transformation du capitalisme japonais (1980-2010)

La grande transformation du capitalisme japonais (1980-2010)



Pourquoi le capitalisme japonais a-t-il disparu de nos débats alors qu'il a été élevé au rang de modèle dans les années 1980 ? Et comment une entreprise symbole de ce modèle comme Toyota est-elle devenue la première du monde dans son secteur malgré la stagnation que subit l'économie japonaise depuis les années 1990 ?

Existe-t-il un modèle optimal d'organisation des entreprises et comment peuvent-elles maintenir leur avance technologique, voire la renforcer, dans un environnement de plus en plus concurrentiel et incertain ? Les pays développés peuvent-ils conserver un avantage comparatif dans l'industrie face à la puissance manufacturière chinoise et quel rôle envisager pour le système éducatif dans la société dite de la « connaissance » ? Enfin, le cycle de dérégulation généralisée touchant peut-être à sa fin, comment penser les relations entre État et marché et redéfinir le contrat social dans un contexte de montée des inégalités ?

Cette analyse de la transformation profonde du capitalisme japonais dans une perspective d'économie politique, associée à une réflexion sur la diversité des capitalismes et sur le changement institutionnel, montre que le Japon constitue toujours un laboratoire susceptible d’éclairer les grands enjeux de l’économie mondiale.

Le livre comprend également une préface de Robert Boyer (Cepremap), une postface de Ronald Dore (London School of Economics) ainsi que les contributions d’Arnaud Nanta (CNRS) et d’Yves Tiberghien (University of British Columbia).