L'acte de vote

L'acte de vote

The Act of Voting

This book invites the reader to rediscover the knowledge and the practices that shape our experience of the vote. No offence to political commentators on election night, but an election is not just a way to make an opinion count. It is also a social ritual, a codified mise-en-scène, contingent on multiple issues.

Ballot, optical scanner, voter ID, ballot box, voting machine : our relationship with the instruments of the vote is changing. New inquiries into the means to elect and be elected are emerging, and the material history of representative democracy is opening itself to new methods of stimulation.

This work synthesizes the material and socio-historical dimensions of electoral operations, assembling the results of numerous studies lead over the course of the past five decades. It is a story revealing the challenges of the act of voting, between the technical and the political, atmosphere and mobilization, archaism and modernity.

Yves Déloye is a Professor of Political Science at the University of Paris-I-Panthéon-Sorbonne.
Olivier Ihl is a Professor of Political Science at the Grenoble IEP.




Also of interest

Le Vote normal
Les élections présidentielle et législatives d'avril-mai-juin 2012
Normal Votes
The Presidential and Legislative Elections of April, May and June 2012
Pascal Perrineau

Series

Références

Subjects

Sociology : Electoral Sociology
Political Science : Political facts
Political Science : Political Life

Connect with us

L'acte de vote

L'acte de vote

Ce livre se veut une invitation à redécouvrir les savoirs et les pratiques qui façonnent notre expérience du vote. N'en déplaise aux commentateurs de nos soirées électorales, l'élection n'est pas seulement le moyen de faire valoir une opinion, c'est aussi un rituel social, une mise en scène codifiée en fonction de multiples enjeux.

Bulletin, scanner optique, carte électorale, urne,machine à voter : notre rapport aux instruments de la vie électorale se métamorphose. De nouvelles interrogations sur la façon d’élire et de se faire élire émergent, et l'histoire matérielle de la démocratie représentative ouvre à la réflexion de stimulantes pistes.

Cet ouvrage de synthèse sur la dimension matérielle et socio-historique des opérations électorales rassemble les résultats de plusieurs enquêtes menées depuis une quinzaine d’années. Une histoire qui révèle les défis de l'acte de vote, entre technique et politique, mises en scène et mobilisation, archaïsme et modernité.




Nous Vous Suggérons Aussi

Le retour des villes européennes
2e édition augmentée d'une préface inédite
Patrick Le Galès

Collection

Références

Sujets

Science politique : Fait politique
Sociologie : Sociologie électorale
Science politique : Vie politique

Suivez-nous