La grève

La grève

Strikes

The memory of the May 1968 strikes remains vivid in France. Yet, here as elsewhere, the number and the length of labor strikes has decreased throughout the last twenty years. Does this retreat mark the advent of peace and quiet for labor, or is it only the effect of pressure exerted by the menace of unemployment and the precarious position of salaried workers ?

Marked by a solid historical, theoretical, and empirical approach to labor strikes, here in France as in Europe, this work puts in evidence the ambivalence of current trends : changes in employment have contributed to the weakening of the strike as recourse for salaried employees, but the metamorphosis of the labor strike does not imply the extinction of mobilized protest in the labor world for now.

Striking is no longer very central to social conflict. More often, it belongs to the halo of mobilization methods that reawaken other antiestablishment actions (petitions, demonstrations, etc.) but which recapture the spirit of coalition and resistance that has characterized the strike since its birth.

Guy Groux is Director of CNRS Research at Cevipof (Sciences Po Center of Political Research). Jean-Marie Pernot is a Researcher at the IRES (Institute of Economic and Social Research).

Guy Groux


http://www.cevipof.msh-paris.fr/chercheurs/chercheurs_fiches/groux.html


Le réformisme assumé de la CFDT
The Reformism of the CFDT
Survey of Members
Martine Barthelemy, Claude Dargent, Guy Groux, Henri Rey
For the first time, an original investigation of the CFDT (French Democratic Confederation of Labour) reveals the aspects of continuity and discontinuity characteristic of this trade union, its history and its universe.


Contributions:

La politique en France et en Europe
Politics in France and in Europe
Pascal Perrineau, Luc Rouban









Also of interest

La zone sterling
Jean de Sailly

Series

Protest

Subjects

Political Science : Political Life
Sociology : Society
Fields
Politics
Society

Connect with us

La grève

La grève

Le souvenir des grèves de Mai 1968 reste vivace en France. Pourtant, ici comme ailleurs,le nombre et les jours de grève baissent depuis vingt ans. Ce recul marque-t-il l'avènement d’un monde du travail pacifié et assagi, ou n’est-il que l’effet de la pression exercée par la menace du chômage et de la précarité sur les salariés ?

Fort d’une approche historique, théorique et empirique de la grève, en France comme en Europe, cet ouvrage met en évidence l’ambivalence des évolutions actuelles : les mutations de l’emploi ont contribué à affaiblir l’usage de la grève comme recours pour les salariés, mais les métamorphoses de la grève n’impliquent pas pour autant l’extinction des mobilisations protestataires dans le monde du travail.

La grève n’est plus aussi centrale au sein des conflictualités sociales. Elle s’inscrit plus souvent dans un halo de mobilisations qui relèvent d’autres registres contestataires (pétitions, manifestations, etc.) mais qui reprennent à leur manière l’esprit de coalition et de résistance qui la caractérise depuis sa naissance.

Guy Groux


http://www.cevipof.msh-paris.fr/chercheurs/chercheurs_fiches/groux.html


Le réformisme assumé de la CFDT
Martine Barthelemy, Claude Dargent, Guy Groux, Henri Rey
Un regard inédit sur l'héritage et sur l'ambition réformiste de la CFDT à partir d'une double enquête originale auprès des militants et des adhérents.


Collaborations intellectuelles ou scientifiques :

La politique en France et en Europe
Pascal Perrineau, Luc Rouban
Issu d’un cours du Centre de recherches politiques de Sciences Po (Cevipof), cet ouvrage propose aux étudiants, mais également à tous ceux que la politique intéresse, des analyses rigoureuses de la vie politique en France et en Europe.









Nous Vous Suggérons Aussi

Les faux-semblants du Front national
Sociologie d'un parti politique
Sylvain Crépon, Alexandre Dézé, Nonna Mayer

Collection

Contester

Sujets

Sociologie : Sociétés en mouvement
Science politique : Vie politique

Suivez-nous