Géographie économique de l'Europe centrale

Géographie économique de l'Europe centrale

Recomposition et européanisation des territoires

An Economic Geography of Central Europe
Territorial recomposition and Europeanization

KEYWORDS: CENTRAL EUROPE – EUROPEAN UNION –ECONOMY - INTEGRATION

Since 1989, a new geography of central-eastern Europe has emerged. On a regional scale, political fragmentation has been accompanied by an integration into the European Union through norms and through currency. At the east of the continent, a new cartography of networks, open ports, and socio-economic discontinuities influence the recomposition of this "understanding" tying the Baltic to the Adriatic. The strategies of European, American, and Asian investors have designed new fonts of production. In this game, certain territories are valorized, others marginalized.

The question is how, during all this, to contain land disputes, reform the governance of major cities, and support the emergence of an economy of knowledge so that central Europe finally garners the position it deserves at least as much historically as it does geographically? New strategies for construction and development must be invented. Here, the European Union brings more than just its market; it offers the east time-tested success strategies, partnerships, and financing.

By involving economic geography with contemporary paradigms, and comparing the development strategies employed by the central European States toward others, from Ireland to Asia, this book provides students, policy makers and entrepreneurs with a gateway to essential reading for the comprehension of the new geography of the European continent.




Also of interest

Les chemins de l'État de droit
La voie étroite des pays entre Europe et Russie
Rule of Law as State-Making
The European Neighbourhood in Perspective
Florent Parmentier

Series

Académique

Subjects

Europe : European Countries
Political Economics : International Economy

Connect with us

Géographie économique de l'Europe centrale

Géographie économique de l'Europe centrale

Recomposition et européanisation des territoires

Depuis 1989, une géographie nouvelle de l'Europe du Centre-Est émerge. À l'échelle de la région, la fragmentation politique s'est accompagnée d'une intégration à l'Union européenne par les normes et par les échanges. À l’est du continent, une nouvelle cartographie des réseaux, des fenêtres maritimes, des discontinuités socio-économiques influe également sur la recomposition de cet « entre-deux » qui s’étire de la Baltique à l’Adriatique. Les stratégies des investisseurs européens, américains et asiatiques ont dessiné de nouveaux bassins de production. À ce jeu, certains territoires sont valorisés, d’autres marginalisés.

Comment dès lors contenir les disparités spatiales, réformer la gouvernance des métropoles, soutenir l’émergence d’une économie de la connaissance pour que l’Europe centrale conjure enfin cette position périphérique qu’elle doit au moins autant à l’histoire qu’à la géographie ? Des stratégies novatrices d’aménagement et de développement des territoires sont à réinventer. Ici, l’Union européenne n’apporte pas que son marché, elle met à disposition des pratiques éprouvées, des partenariats, des financements.

En s’inscrivant dans les paradigmes contemporains de la géographie économique, en comparant les stratégies de développement déployées par les États d’Europe centrale à d’autres, irlandaises ou asiatiques, ce livre fournit aux étudiants, aux décideurs et aux entrepreneurs une grille de lecture précieuse pour la compréhension de la nouvelle géographie du continent européen.




Nous Vous Suggérons Aussi

Cinquante ans de rapports entre patrons et ouvriers en Allemagne, 1918-1968
T. I, De 1918 à 1945: La République de Weimar et le Troisième Reich
Pierre Waline

Collection

Académique

Sujets

Economie politique : Economie internationale
Europe : Pays Européens

Suivez-nous