Le marché des défunts

Le marché des défunts

Pascale Trompette
Market of the Departed

The French funereal sector entered the sphere of the competitive market following the Sueur Law of 1993, breaking with two centuries of regulated monopoly. This shift constitutes an exemplary creation of a competitive public service in a domain implying strong social and civic issues.

The author describes the political and historic construction of this unique market, an effort shared between church, state, and private entrepreneurs. In the background, one discovers at the heart of movements playing out on the international stage, the originality of these transformations in French industry.

A contribution to the renewal of contemporary economic sociology, this work analyzes the practical functionality of this market against the study of competitive practices, rules and regulations, and the relation of service to an area marked by the weight of the sacred and intimate relationships.

Pascale Trompette is a Director of Research in Sociology at CNRS, and a member of Pacte Politique-Organisations at the University of Grenoble.




Also of interest

Series

Académique

Subjects

Political Science
Politics
Society
Sociology

Connect with us

Le marché des défunts

Le marché des défunts

Pascale Trompette

Le secteur des pompes funèbres français est entré dans la sphère du marché concurrentiel depuis la loi Sueur de 1993, après deux siècles de monopole réglementé. Il constitue un cas exemplaire de création d'un service public concurrentiel dans un domaine aux enjeux civiques et sociaux forts.

L'auteur décrit la construction historique et politique de ce marché spécifique, entre État, Église et entrepreneurs privés. En arrière-plan, on découvre, au cœur de mouvements qui se jouent à l'échelon international, l’originalité des transformations du secteur français.
Contribution au renouvellement de la sociologie économique contemporaine, l’ouvrage analyse le fonctionnement concret de ce marché à travers l’étude des pratiques concurrentielles, des règles de régulation et de la relation de service dans un domaine marqué par le poids du sacré et le rapport à l’intime.

Ce livre propose une réflexion croisée entre science politique et sociologie économique.




Nous Vous Suggérons Aussi

Mesurer la délinquance
Philippe Robert, Renée Zauberman

Collection

Académique

Sujets

Science politique
Sociologie

Suivez-nous