Les lois de l'enfantement

Les lois de l'enfantement

Procréation et politique en France (1982-2011)

The Laws of Childbirth
Procreation and Politics in France (1982-2011)

KEYWORDS: BIOETHICS - MEDICALLY ASSISTED PROCREATION - GAMETE DONATION - SURROGATE MOTHERS - HOMOPARENTALITY - SINGLE PARENT - FAMILIES

From the moment the first French "test tube" baby was born in 1982, intense social debates arose. Will this procedure dehumanize birth? Is family primarily biological or social? Are families resulting from fertility labs families like any other?

A long process began, which lead to the adoption of bioethics laws in 1994. In France, only a couple comprised of one man and one woman in a stable relationship are allowed, the donation of sperm and eggs are free and anonymous, and surrogate mothers are prohibited.

Fifteen years later, the laws are back to the drawing board. Times have changed, and the family has diversified. Children born thanks to a donor demand to know about their origins. The gestation for others hasn't been eradicated. Same sex couples demand to be recognized. The controversy reignites and policies have been questioned. Nevertheless, against all expectations, the law has been revisited.

An unprecedented synthesis of thirty years of public debate and political decisions around a societal subject revolutionized by scientific progress.

The Author: Dominique Mehl is a sociologist at CNRS. She has followed reproductive medicine issues since their emergence and works closely with doctors, intellectuals, and policy makers on life and its representations as linked to childbirth. She has already published two works on the question: Naître ? (Bayard, 1999) et Enfants du don (Robert Laffont, 2008).
 




Also of interest

La santé aux États-Unis
Une histoire politique
Health in the United States
A political history
Anne-Laure Beaussier

Series

Références

Subjects

Political Science : French Politics
Political Science : Political facts
Political Science : Public Policy
Health

Connect with us

Les lois de l'enfantement

Les lois de l'enfantement

Procréation et politique en France (1982-2011)

Dès la venue au monde, en 1982, du premier « bébé-éprouvette » français, d'intenses débats de société surgissent. La technique ne risque-t-elle pas de déshumaniser la naissance ? La parenté est-elle avant tout biologique ou d'abord sociale ? Les familles issues des laboratoires de la fertilité seront-elles des familles comme les autres ?

Un long processus se met en marche, qui aboutit à l'adoption des lois de bioéthique en 1994. En France, seuls les couples composés d'un homme et d'une femme vivant une relation stable seront admis, les dons de sperme ou d’ovocytes seront gratuits et anonymes, les mères porteuses interdites.

Quinze ans plus tard, la loi est remise en chantier. Les mœurs ont évolué, la famille s’est diversifiée. Des enfants nés grâce à un donneur revendiquent le droit de connaître leurs origines. La gestation pour autrui n’est pas éradiquée. Les familles homoparentales éclosent et demandent à être reconnues. La controverse renaît, et les politiques doutent. Cependant, contre toute attente, la loi est reconduite en l’état.

Une synthèse inédite sur trente ans de débats publics et de décisions politiques autour d’un sujet de société révolutionné par les progrès scientifiques.




Nous Vous Suggérons Aussi

L'esprit cosmopolite
Voyages de formation des jeunes en Europe
Vincenzo Cicchelli

Collection

Références

Sujets

Science politique : Fait politique
Science politique : Politique française
Science politique : Politiques publiques
Santé

Suivez-nous