Les migrations environnementales

Les migrations environnementales

Enjeux et gouvernance
Christel Cournil, Benoît Mayer
Environmental Migration
Governance and Issues

Humans have always adapted to environmental changes by migrating.

On a planet with 7 billion people, and which is dealing with unprecedented climatic phenomena — global warning, rising sea levels, the disruption of weather patterns, the proliferation of natural disasters — migration has suddenly assumed an alarming magnitude.

The number of 'climate migrants' is estimated to reach 250 million by 2050. How is this issue being addressed and discussed today? What are the international governance mechanisms already in place, and which should be implemented in the next few years? What role can and should international law play?

Examining this immense challenge for the international community, this volume presents an overview of the current research and debates on the issue of environmental migration, with an added emphasis on legal matters and issues of governance.




Also of interest

La question migratoire au XXIe siècle
Migrants, réfugiés et relations internationales
Migration Issue in the 21st century
Migrants, Refugees and International Relations
Catherine Wihtol de Wenden

Series

Bibliothèque du citoyen

Subjects

Geopolitics : Migration Questions
Geopolitics : Sustainable Development

Connect with us

Les migrations environnementales

Les migrations environnementales

Enjeux et gouvernance

L'homme s'est toujours adapté aux changements environnementaux en se déplaçant.

Sur une planète de 7 milliards d’habitants aux prises avec des événements climatiques sans précédent – réchauffement brutal, montée du niveau des mers, bouleversement des cycles météorologiques, multiplication des catastrophes –, le phénomène migratoire prend soudainement une ampleur alarmante.

On estime le nombre de « migrants climatiques » à250 millions d’individus d’ici à 2050. Comment cet enjeu est-il aujourd’hui abordé et débattu ? Quels sont les mécanismes de gouvernance internationale existants et ceux qui doivent être mis au point dans les prochaines années ? Quel rôle le droit international peut-il et doit-il jouer ?

Face à cet immense défi pour la communauté internationale, cet ouvrage propose une synthèse des savoirs et des débats actuels, avec un accent particulier sur les questions juridiques et de gouvernance.