Médecin du travail, médecin du patron ?

Médecin du travail, médecin du patron ?

L'indépendance médicale en question
Occupational Physicians or Corporate Doctors?
Questioning Medical Independence

Work-related suffering, occupational cancers, musculoskeletal disorders... In France, occupational risk prevention is taking a turn for the worse.

This is the case despite the fact that there are professionals who are legally responsible for helping to prevent any negative impact on employee health caused by working conditions — occupational physicians. What role do these doctors play in the current failure of prevention? Can employees truly trust these professionals?

The unique status of occupational physicians subjects them to serious contradictions. Although they have the right, and even the obligation, to remain independent, as employees themselves, they are also subject to the authority of their employers.

Thanks to a five-year study, Marichalar shows how occupational physicians exercise their trade, issuing confirmations of fitness for work, recognising occupational diseases and taking into account unsafe working conditions.

This work sheds light on the failings of a system that exposes millions of workers to serious but preventable risks, and offers several possibilities for improving the independence of occupational physicians.

Pascal Marichalar is a sociologist and a research fellow with the CNRS. He is also a member of the Institut de recherche interdisciplinaire sur les enjeux sociaux (IRIS - Institute for Interdisciplinary Research on Social Dynamics).




Also of interest

Ressources humaines pour sortie de crise
Human Resources as an Answer to the Jobs Crisis
Pierre-Éric Tixier

Series

Nouveaux Débats

Subjects

Business : Sociology of work
Health

Connect with us

Médecin du travail, médecin du patron ?

Médecin du travail, médecin du patron ?

L'indépendance médicale en question

Souffrance au travail, cancers professionnels, troubles musculo-squelettiques… En France, la prévention des risques professionnels va mal.

Il existe pourtant des professionnels – les médecins du travail – chargés par la loi de prévenir toute altération de la santé des individus du fait de leur travail. Quelle part ces praticiens ont-ils dans cette faillite de la prévention ? Les salariés peuvent-ils leur faire confiance ?

Le statut particulier des médecins du travail les enferme dans de sévères contradictions. S'ils ont le droit, et même le devoir, de rester indépendants, ils sont tenus, en tant que salariés, à une forme de subordination vis-à-vis des employeurs.

De l’avis d’aptitude à la reconnaissance de la maladie professionnelle et à la prise en compte de la dangerosité des conditions de travail, l’auteur montre, au terme d’une enquête de cinq ans, comment les médecins du travail tentent d’exercer leur métier et ouvre quelques pistes pour améliorer l’indépendance de cette institution.

Un éclairage sur les faiblesses d’un système qui expose des millions de travailleurs à des risques graves mais évitables, et quelques pistes pour améliorer l’indépendance de la médecine du travail.




Nous Vous Suggérons Aussi

Collection

Nouveaux Débats

Sujets

Entreprise : Sociologie du travail
Santé

Suivez-nous