Favoritisme et corruption à la française

Favoritisme et corruption à la française

Petits arrangements avec la probité
Favoritism and Corruption, French Style
The abuse of power and integrity

Acts of corruption come one after another, sometimes becoming scandals, each time crushing the confidence of citizens in their elected officials and government institutions a little bit more. When 65% of French people consider politicians "rather corrupt," one might think a state of emergency has been reached.

That this is not the case is the paradox of French democracy. Many are dismayed at this straying from integrity, considering that the legitimacy of governments is one of the foundations of democracy. But while some leaders toy with the rules, bending them to their own benefit, the citizenry, often complacent in matters of favoritism and other abuses of power, does not easily sanction these acts in the end.

In order to understand this, at the very least, contradictory situation, this work approaches the ambiguity that marks these attitudes toward corruption from different angles. It shows, by combining diverse forms of evidence (local monographs, experiments, and reports), the multiplicity of criteria used for passing judgments about corruption. Politics aren't just a matter of morals, but of efficacy and confidence in political institutions. It's the complex and fluid arrangement between these three dimensions which explains the ambivalent attitudes of voters and their tolerance of these acts.




Also of interest

Atlas électoral 2007
Qui vote quoi, où, comment ?
Electoral Atlas 2007
Who votes what, where, and how ?
Pascal Perrineau

Series

Académique

Subjects

Fields : Governance
Political Science : Political facts
Politics

Connect with us

Favoritisme et corruption à la française

Favoritisme et corruption à la française

Petits arrangements avec la probité

Les « affaires » se succèdent, devenant parfois des scandales, laminant toujours un peu plus la défiance des citoyens à l'égard de leurs élus et des institutions politiques. Quand 65% des Français considèrent les hommes politiques comme « plutôt corrompus », on pourrait penser que la cote d'alerte est atteinte.

Paradoxe de la démocratie française, ce n'est pas le cas. On s'indigne des « affaires », on considère que la probité des gouvernants est l’un des fondements de la démocratie mais beaucoup de dirigeants se jouent des règles et les orientent à leur profit et, finalement, souvent complaisants avec le favoritisme et autres formes d’arrangement, les citoyens les sanctionnent peu.

Pour comprendre cette situation pour le moins contradictoire cet ouvrage aborde sous différents angles l’ambiguïté qui domine dans les attitudes à l’égard de la « corruption ». Il montre, en combinant diverses enquêtes (monographies locales, expérimentations, sondage) la multiplicité des critères de jugement sur la corruption. La politique n’est pas seulement une affaire de morale, mais aussi d’efficacité et de confiance dans nos institutions. C’est l’arbitrage complexe et mouvant entre ces trois dimensions qui explique l’ambivalence du comportement des électeurs et leur tolérance de fait.

Ont contribué à cet ouvrage : Bruno Cautrès - Flora Chanvril - Jean Chiche - Viviane Le Hay - Nonna Mayer - Oscar Mazzoleni - Guy Michelat - Janine Mossuz-Lavau - Anne Mixel - Pascal Perrineau - Mariette Sineau - Odette Tomescu-Hatto




Nous Vous Suggérons Aussi

Le vote des Quinze
Les élections européennes du 13 juin 1999
Gérard Grunberg

Collection

Académique

Sujets

Science politique : Fait politique

Suivez-nous