La Turquie en Europe

La Turquie en Europe

L'opinion des Européens et des Turcs

Turkey in Europe
European and Turkish Opinion

KEYWORDS: TURKEY - EUROPEAN UNION - INTEGRATION - REGIONAL INFLUENCE

The addition of Turkey to the European Union has been a polarizing issue. Never has the EU's expansion solicited so many different reactions, even radical opposition. This candidature has stirred up unexamined issues of identity, values, borders, and the democratic deficit of Europe.

These debates give us strong warnings about the unacknowledged issues of a European construct founded on cultural and geographical assumptions. They reveal the hidden nature of the question of immigration and of Islam at the heart of the Union.

Like a reverse mirror, the Turks’ views of Europe and their disenchantment in the face of European reluctance forms the original angle of this work, which offers an analysis of the crossroads between European and Turkish viewpoints.

At a time when Turkey is ready to play a new role as a regional power, it is up to European governments to recognize the opportunites, along with the risks, of winning or losing a full partnership with Turkey.

The authors: Bruno Cautrès is a researcher CNRS at Cevipof-Centre of Political Research at Sciences Po, and teaches at Sciences Po. Nicolas Monceau is an associate researacher at Pacte Laboratory (CNRS) at the Political Science Institute in Grenoble and teaches at l’Université de Fribourg.




Also of interest

Le marché des défunts
Market of the Departed
Pascale Trompette

Series

Académique

Subjects

Europe : European Construction
Political Science : Political facts
Fields
International field
Politics

Connect with us

La Turquie en Europe

La Turquie en Europe

L'opinion des Européens et des Turcs

L'adhésion de la Turquie à l'Union européenne divise. Jamais élargissement n'a suscité autant de réactions contrastées, voire d’oppositions radicales. Cette candidature soulève en effet des enjeux inédits sur l’identité, les valeurs, les frontières et le déficit démocratique de l’Europe.

Ces débats nous parlent avec force des non-dits d’une construction européenne fondée sur des postulats culturels et géographiques. Ils révèlent en sous-main la place prise par la question des migrations et celle de l’islam au sein des pays de l’Union.

Tel un miroir inversé, le regard des Turcs sur l’Europe et leur désenchantement face aux réticences des Européens forment l’angle original de cet ouvrage qui propose une analyse croisée de l'évolution des opinions européennes et turques.

À l’heure où la Turquie entend jouer un nouveau rôle de puissance régionale, il appartient désormais aux gouvernements européens d’apprécier l’opportunité, ou au contraire le risque, de gagner ou de perdre la Turquie comme partenaire à part entière.




Nous Vous Suggérons Aussi

Carl Schmitt, penseur de l'État
Genèse d'une doctrine
Sandrine Baume

Collection

Académique

Sujets

Europe : Construction européenne
Science politique : Fait politique

Suivez-nous