Amérique latine, les élections contre la démocratie?

Amérique latine, les élections contre la démocratie?

Latin America : Elections Against Democracy ?

Twelve Latin American countries held presidential elections between November 2005 and December 2006. This exceptional wave of elections was reduced by radical changes (Bolivia, Equador) but also by a certain continuity (Chile, Columbia, Mexico, Venezuela, Brazil). New figures appeared, such as the indigenous Evo Morales in Bolivia or Michelle Bachelet in Chile, while former presidents were re-elected two decades after their first terms (Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Peru). The results, therefore, are diverse.

Could the disastrous social heritage of a decade of Neolibralism lead to electoral behaviors harmful to the stability and quality of democracy ? Have the Latin Americans deserted the voting booth, allowing themselves to be seduced by neopopulist rhetoric, or bring to power presidents without a majority to govern ? It’s been none of these, but in several countries (Bolivia, Equador, Venezuela, Nicaragua) the elections have opened up profound political polarization.

This work evaluates the political evolutions of the continent, its turn to the left, the influence of Hugo Chávez in the region, and its relation with the United States. Going a step further, it calls into question a certain number of hypotheses raised in recent years on the obstacles to consolidation and democracy in Latin America.

Olivier Dabène, in order to analyze the 2006 electoral cycle in Latin America, has reunited the finest specialists from France, Spain, Mexico, Columbia, Bolivia, Venezuela, Peru and Brazil. Their contributions offer a series of rigorous perspectives, based on the best sources.




Also of interest

L'Enjeu mondial
Les migrations
Global Issues
Migrations
Christophe Jaffrelot, Christian Lequesne

Series

Académique

Subjects

International : Latin America
Political Science : Political Life

Connect with us

Amérique latine, les élections contre la démocratie?

Amérique latine, les élections contre la démocratie?

Douze pays d’Amérique latine ont tenu des élections présidentielles entre novembre 2005 et décembre 2006. Cette exceptionnelle vague d’élections s’est soldée par des changements radicaux (Bolivie, Équateur) mais aussi par une certaine continuité (Chili, Colombie, Mexique, Venezuela, Brésil). Des figures nouvelles sont apparues, tel l’Indien Evo Morales en Bolivie ou Michelle Bachelet au Chili, quand d’anciens présidents ont été réélus deux décennies après leur premier mandat (Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Pérou). Le bilan est donc contrasté.

L’héritage social désastreux d’une décennie de néolibéralisme pouvait-il conduire à des comportements électoraux dysfonctionnels pour la stabilité et la qualité de la démocratie ? Les Latino-Américains allaient-ils déserter les bureaux de vote, se laisser séduire par les discours néopopulistes, ou porter au pouvoir des présidents sans majorité pour gouverner ? Il n’en a rien été, mais dans plusieurs pays (Bolivie, Équateur, Venezuela, Nicaragua), les élections ont débouché sur une profonde polarisation politique.

Cet ouvrage fait le point sur les évolutions politiques du continent, son virage à gauche, l’influence d’Hugo Chávez dans la région et sa relation avec les États-Unis. Au-delà, il remet en question un certain nombre d’hypothèses émises ces dernières années sur les obstacles à la consolidation de la démocratie en Amérique latine.

Olivier Dabène a réuni pour analyser le cycle électoral 2006 en Amérique latine les meilleurs spécialistes issus de France, Espagne, Mexique, Colombie, Bolivie, Venezuela, Pérou et Brésil. Leurs contributions apportent une série d’éclairages rigoureux reposant sur les meilleures sources.




Nous Vous Suggérons Aussi

Allende et l'expérience chilienne
Salvador Allende Gossens, Joan E. Garcés

Collection

Académique

Sujets

Monde & sociétés : Amérique latine
Science politique : Vie politique
Domaines
International
Politique

Suivez-nous