Vie et mort des institutions marchandes

Vie et mort des institutions marchandes

Life and death of mercantile institutions

The markets we trade in are not arid landscapes, where the interests of the calculating are coldly articulated. They are, to the contrary, saturated with landmarks and signposts - logos, trademarks, criticism, reputations, certifications, labels, titles, and statutes - which contribute to the definition of our choices and, of late, weigh on the issues of the day.

How do we comprehend the deterministic role the critic Robert Parker plays in the price fixing of Bordeaux wines? After all, there is no mechanism to coerce nor impose on the actors of the Bordeaux region to rely on his notes for fixing their prices, and yet none can ignore them. It's thus the power of the "Robert Parker" mercantile institution that must explain it.

If these institutions play a such a role in our economic lives, we must also take into account their origin and their transformation: for example, where does the Sentier, long associated with the confection industry, come from, having brutally become synonymous with the torment of the bourgeoning net-economy of the 1990's?

The origins and power of mercantile institutions are among the enigmas that this work attempts to explore across an original theoretical context as well as a series of studies on the wine market, biotechnology firms, and the convention ISO 26000.




Also of interest

Gouverner par les instruments
Instruments of Public Politics
Pierre Lascoumes, Patrick Le Galès

Series

Académique

Subjects

Political Science : Governance
Fields : Governance
Sociology : Sociologie économique
Politics
Society

Connect with us

Vie et mort des institutions marchandes

Vie et mort des institutions marchandes

Les marchés sur lesquels nous échangeons ne sont pas terres arides où s'articuleraient froidement des intérêts calculateurs. Ils sont au contraire saturés de repères et d'échelles – logos, noms propres, critiques, réputations, certifications, labels, titres et statuts – qui contribuent à définir nos choix et, partant, à peser sur les jeux concurrentiels.

Comment comprendre le rôle déterminant que joue le critique Robert Parker dans la fixation du prix des vins de Bordeaux ? Après tout, nul appareil coercitif n'impose aux acteurs du monde bordelais de s'appuyer sur ses notes pour fixer leurs prix ; et pourtant nul ne peut les ignorer. C'est donc la puissance de l'institution marchande « Robert Parker » qu'il faut d'abord expliquer.

Si ces institutions jouent un tel rôle dans notre vie économique, il nous faut aussi rendre compte de leur origine et de leur transformation : d'où vient par exemple que le Sentier, longtemps associé à l’industrie de la confection, est brutalement devenu synonyme, au tournant des années 1990, de la net-économie naissante ?

Genèse et puissance des institutions marchandes sont des énigmes que cet ouvrage propose d’explorer au travers d’un cadre théorique original et d’une série d’études portant aussi bien sur le marché du vin, les firmes de biotechnologies ou la norme ISO 26000.
Un livre qui ne manquera pas d’intéresser étudiants et enseignants en sociologie, économie et marketing.




Nous Vous Suggérons Aussi

Grand Paris
L'émergence d'une métropole
Frédéric Gilli

Collection

Académique

Sujets

Science politique : Gouvernances
Sociologie : Sociologie économique

Suivez-nous