La fabrique réactionnaire

La fabrique réactionnaire

Antisémitisme, spoliations et corporatisme dans le cuir (1930-1950)
Preface by Michel Margairaz
The Political Reactionary Factory
Anti-Semitism, pillage, and corporatism of leather (1930-1950)

  • Prix d’histoire de l’Académie François-Bourdon, Fondation Arts et Métiers 2005

During the Vichy government, anti-Semitic raids impacted approximately 50,000 implicating the involvement of the French administration as well as that of French society as a whole. How does a society establish a policy of exclusion? How does it develop the mechanisms for rejection of the other, whether this other be Jewish, foreign, or an economic competitor ? More important, which ties can be established between economic crises and political crises ? What role did the business-owning middle class play ?

A reactionary process develops itself, builds itself, establishes itself. To describe the steps, the subtleties, the interpretation of facts in relation to this phenomenon, Florent le Bot delves into the world of the leather industry. He reaches into an official report of the involvement of a group of professionals in the pillage of their Jewish counterparts, taking part in a rejection more ancient and more profound than the variations of the economy, attributed since the 1930s to a few large groups designated as "Jews" (the Hunters of André), stigmatized as foreigners (the Bata group), or Jewish artisans of Eastern European origin.

Protectionist demands, xenophobic and anti-Semitic in tone, and the reactionary positions of opposition to industrial modernization, create a line of continuity drawn from the 1930s to the 1950s, this despite restitutions of stolen goods after the war.

Combining political, economic, and social history, this book explains the movements at the very foundation of French society on the eve of the Trente Glorieuses.

Florent Le Bot is a researcher with l'IDHE-CNRS, in charge of the program the University of Évry. His thesis, from which this work came, won the Académie François-Bourdon, Foundation of Arts and Sciences History Prize in 2005.




Also of interest

Consommateurs engagés à la Belle Époque
La Ligue sociale d'acheteurs
Socially Responsible Consumers of the Belle Epoque
'La Ligue sociale d'acheteurs'
Marie-Emmanuelle Chessel

Series

Académique

Subjects

History : Economic & Social History
History : History by period

Connect with us

La fabrique réactionnaire

La fabrique réactionnaire

Antisémitisme, spoliations et corporatisme dans le cuir (1930-1950)
Préface de Michel Margairaz
  • Prix d’histoire de l’Académie François-Bourdon, Fondation Arts et Métiers 2005

Durant le régime de Vichy, les spoliations antisémites ont concerné environ 50000 biens de toute nature et ont impliqué l’engagement de l’administration française, mais aussi celui de la société. Comment se met en place l’adhésion à une politique d’exclusion ? Comment s’élaborent les mécanismes du rejet de l’autre, qu’il soit juif, étranger, concurrent sur le plan économique ? Plus largement, quelles relations peut-on établir entre crises économiques et crises politiques ? Quel rôle ont exercé les classes moyennes patronales ?

Un processus réactionnaire s’élabore, se construit, se fabrique. Pour en décrire les étapes, les contours, les facteurs d’explication, Florent Le Bot prend le parti de s’intéresser au monde du cuir. Il aboutit au constat que l’engagement d’une partie des professionnels dans la spoliation de leurs confrères juifs s’inscrit dans un rejet plus ancien et plus profond des mutations de l’économie, imputées dès les années 1930 à quelques grands groupes désignés comme « juifs » (les Chaussures André), stigmatisés comme étrangers (le groupe Bata), ou aux artisans juifs originaires d’Europe de l’Est.

Les revendications protectionnistes, à tonalité xénophobe et antisémite, les postures réactionnaires d’opposition à la modernisation industrielle dessinent ainsi une ligne de continuité, des années 1930 aux années 1950, et ce malgré la réalité des restitutions de biens spoliés après guerre.

En mêlant histoire politique, économique et sociale, ce livre permet de comprendre les mouvements de fond de la société française à la veille des Trente Glorieuses.




Nous Vous Suggérons Aussi

Monnaie privée et pouvoir des princes
L'économie des relations monétaires à la Renaissance
Marie-Thérèse Boyer-Xambeu, Ghislain Deleplace, Lucien Gillard

Collection

Académique

Sujets

Histoire : Histoire économique et sociale
Histoire : Histoire par période

Suivez-nous