Émeutes vs intégration

Émeutes vs intégration

Comparaisons franco-britanniques
Romain Garbaye
Riots v. Integration
Franco-Britannic comparisons

Riots, because they introduce a rupture to societal order, are perceived as exterior to the culture and national traditions; the fact that those who participate in them are often of immigrant origin sparks debate about the cultural, ethnic, or racial criteria of integration.

Great Britain, long confronted with episodes of urban tension, has since the 1980's developed a thought culture focused on multiculturalism, the fight against racial discrimination and against the political under-representation of minorities. In the following decade, these approaches lead to ambitious policies against racial discrimination in the police force.

The ideas of citizenship, of common values, and the notion of community cohesion of Tony Blair's "New Labour" eclipsed these priorities after the wave of riots in 2001. But multiculturalism continues to inspire a number of policies north of the English Channel and to animate a vibrant debate.

An illuminating essay, in a European context where multiculturalism tends to fade the shadow of a "neo-assimilationism," notably in France where ethnic statistics and the under-representation of minorities remain subjects for fierce debate.

Émeutes vs intégration

Émeutes vs intégration

Comparaisons franco-britanniques
Romain Garbaye

L'émeute, parce qu'elle introduit une rupture dans le fonctionnement de la société, est perçue comme extérieure à la culture et aux traditions nationales ; le fait que ceux qui y participent soient souvent d'origine immigrée suscite des débats sur les critères culturels, ethniques ou raciaux d’intégration.

La Grande-Bretagne, depuis longtemps confrontée à des épisodes de tensions urbaines, a développé dès les années 1980 une réflexion axée sur le multiculturalisme, la lutte contre la discrimination raciale et contre la sous-représentation politique des minorités. Ces approches ont abouti, dans la décennie suivante, à des politiques ambitieuses contre la discrimination raciale dans la police.

Les idées de citoyenneté, de valeurs communes, et la notion de community cohesion du New Labour de Tony Blairles ont éclipsées après la vague de d’émeutes de 2001. Mais le multiculturalisme continue d’inspirer nombre de politiques outre-manche et d’animer un vif débat.

Un essai éclairant,dans un contexte européen où le multiculturalisme tend à s’effacer au profit d’un « néo-assimilationniste », notamment en France où statistiques ethniques et sous-représentations des minorités restent sujets à polémique.