La Rénovation urbaine

La Rénovation urbaine

Démolition-reconstruction de l'État
Renaud Epstein
Urban Renovation
Demolition and Reconstruction of the State

As the policies implemented since the beginning of the 1980s with regard to large-scale social housing have failed to halt the spiral of downgrading and exclusion, their demolition has become the de facto solution to the problem of the French suburbs.

The National Urban Renewal Program (PNRU - Programme national de rénovationurbaine) launched by Jean-Louis Borloo in 2003 has transformed France's large-scale social housing landscape into a vast construction site. Demolition and reconstruction projects have been undertaken in over 500 neighborhoods, mobilizing a colossal amount of funds — 45 billion Euro in all — with the dual goal of rendering their urban configuration commonplace and encouraging social diversity.

Even as the first projects are being completed and the illusion that social problems will be solved through urban transformation is dissipating, this publication revisits the implementation and effects of a program which, since its inception, has been presented as a success marking an end to decades of failure.

This analysis of the PNRU and its historical contextualization renews the debates on urban policies and shines a new light on the territorial effects of State-led reforms during the 2000s. In fact, urban renewal follows from and pertains to the larger process of the demolition and reconstruction of the State, simultaneously producing its withdrawal from the territories and restoring its capacity for guiding the policies implemented therein from a distance.




Also of interest

Ignorance scientifique et inaction publique
Les politiques de santé au travail
Scientific ignorance and public inaction
Health policy in the workplace
Emmanuel Henry

Series

Académique

Subjects

Exams : AGREG GEOGRAPHIE
Political Science : Governance
Fields : Governance
History
Politics
Society

Connect with us

La Rénovation urbaine

La Rénovation urbaine

Démolition-reconstruction de l'État
Écoutez Renaud Epstein auteur de "La Rénovation urbaine. Démolition-reconstruction de l'État"

Les politiques mises en oeuvre depuis le début des années 1980 dansles grands ensembles d'habitat social n'étant pas parvenues à les faire sortir de la spirale de la dévalorisation et de l'exclusion, leur démolition s'est imposée comme la solution au problème des banlieues.

Le programme national de rénovation urbaine (PNRU) lancé par Jean-Louis Borloo en 2003 a transformé la France des grands ensembles en un vaste chantier. Des opérations de démolition-reconstruction ont été engagées dans près de 500 quartiers, mobilisant des moyens colossaux– 45 milliards d'euros au total – avec la double ambition de banaliser leur forme urbaine et d'en faire des lieux de mixité sociale.

Alors que les premiers projets s'achèvent et que le mirage d’une dissolution des problèmes sociaux dans la transformation urbaine se dissipe, cet ouvrage revient sur la mise en oeuvre et les effets d’un programme qui, dès son lancement, a été présenté comme un succès mettant fin à des décennies d’échec.

L’analyse du PNRU et sa mise en perspective historique renouvellent les débats sur la politique de la ville et apportent un éclairage inédit sur les effets territoriaux des réformes de l’État des années 2000. Car la rénovation urbaine résulte et participe d’un processus plus vaste de démolition-reconstruction de l’État, organisant dans un même mouvement son retrait des territoires et la restauration de sa capacité d’orientation, à distance, des politiques qui y sont menées.




Nous Vous Suggérons Aussi

Gouverner les conduites
Sophie Dubuisson-Quellier

Collection

Académique

Sujets

Science politique : Gouvernances

Suivez-nous