L'Union par le droit

L'Union par le droit

L'invention d'un programme institutionnel pour l'Europe
Union through Law
Inventing an Institutional Programme for Europe

The European Constitution, the Charter of Fundamental Rights, the Balanced Budget Amendment… European integration is remarkable in its extraordinary continuity of form: beyond the crises and the 'last chance' summits, political Europe is in constant construction in terms of laws.
Recalling the historical and social foundations of this European ‘legalism’, this book reveals how, over several decades, an institutional programme was constructed - ‘Union through law’ - capable of giving meaning and unity to the ensemble of Europe’s disparate communities and policies. It also reveals the essential role played by various players and elite groups, especially academics, in the mutation of treaties into an ‘institutional system’ with its own logic, which has become the veritable guardian of the European project.

Far from the impediments of a heroic history of Europe with its crises and re-founding treaties, it shows why and how law became the principal device through which Europe was able to impose itself as a new power centre.

Antoine Vauchez is Director of Research at the CNRS and member of the European Centre for Sociology and Political Science (Sorbonne University, Paris 1). His work focuses on knowledge and the transnational elite in European government.




Also of interest

L'Entreprise et l'Evangile
Une histoire des patrons chrétiens
Entreprise and evangelisme
A history of christian executives
Marie-Emmanuelle Chessel, Nicolas de Bremond d'Ars, André Grelon

Series

Références

Subjects

Europe : European Construction
Exams : Exams History
Exams : Exams political science
Political Science : Governance
Fields
History
International field
Politics
Society

Connect with us

L'Union par le droit

L'Union par le droit

L'invention d'un programme institutionnel pour l'Europe

Constitution européenne, charte des droits fondamentaux, règle d'or budgétaire… L'intégration européenne frappe par l’extraordinaire continuité des formes qu’elle emprunte : par-delà les crises et les « sommets de la dernière chance », l’Europe politique ne cesse de se réinventer dans les termes du droit.

En quête des fondements historiques et sociaux de ce « juridisme » européen, l’ouvrage retrace le processus par lequel s’est bâti, en plusieurs décennies, un programme institutionnel – « l’Union par le droit » – capable de donner sens et unité à l’ensemble hétéroclite des communautés et des politiques européennes. Il révèle aussi le rôle essentiel qu’ont joué un ensemble d’acteurs et de groupes d’élite, universitaires notamment, dans la mutation des traités en un « système institutionnel » doté d’une logique propre et devenu le véritable conservatoire du projet communautaire.

Loin des travers d’une histoire héroïque de l’Europe en termes de crises ou de traités refondateurs, il démontre pourquoi et comment c’est le droit qui s’est imposé comme le levier principal par lequel l’Europe a pu s’affirmer comme nouveau centre de pouvoir.




Nous Vous Suggérons Aussi

La démocratie multiculturelle
Nouvelle édition entièrement actualisée
Marco Martiniello

Collection

Références

Sujets

CONCOURS : Agrégation Histoire
CONCOURS : Agrégation science politique
Science politique : Gouvernances

Suivez-nous