Le quinquennat

Le quinquennat

Réflexions sur nos institutions
Preface by Robert Badinter
The Five Year Term
Reflections on our institutions

Reducing the length of the presidential term from seven to five years—what could be simpler? A new number, a single word changed in the constitution. Thanks to the oft expressed will of French citizens, the president's reign is shorter. The people have been heard.

Except for those who object; to them a half-decade term changes the very nature of French institutions. The majority of those who hold this opinion emphasize that it presidentializes the Fifth Republic. Others base their refusal on exactly the opposite view, that the new term limit reinforces the weight of the parties, threatening a regime of the assembly. The matter becomes complicated.

A third view emerges: that the five year term inevitably drives France toward an American style presidential regime. Such a chain of events is dreaded by conservatives, but the hope of progressives. The fog thickens.

What are we to think of these different positions? Is the five year term a good or a bad thing? What does it really change? These are the sort of questions French citizens pose. This new edition responds to them, both by examining the confrontation between the Fifth Republic and the great democracies encircling it, and by looking at more current debates.

Olivier Duhamel, Professor at the Sciences Po Universities, Director of the review Pouvoirs, and Reviewer at France-Culture and LCI, has participated in the Vedel (1993) and Balladur (2007) commissions on the revision of the constitution.




Also of interest

Revue française de science politique 68-5, octobre 2018
Elections françaises 2017 (2)
et al.

Series

Bibliothèque du citoyen

Subjects

Political Science : French Politics

Connect with us

Le quinquennat

Le quinquennat

Réflexions sur nos institutions
Préface de Robert Badinter

Réduire la durée du mandat présidentiel de sept à cinq ans, quoi de plus simple ? Un nouveau chiffre, un seul mot changé dans la Constitution. Grâce à quoi les Français s'expriment plus souvent, le président règne moins longtemps. L'affaire est entendue.
Sauf que l'on objecte : le quinquennat change la nature de nos institutions. La plupart des tenants de cette thèse soulignent qu'il présidentialise la Cinquième République. D'autres fondent leur refus sur une analyse exactement inverse : il renforce le poids des partis et nous menace d'un régime d'assemblée. L'affaire se complique.
Troisième argumentation : le quinquennat nous entraîne obligatoirement vers un régime présidentiel à l'américaine. Un tel enchaînement est redouté par les conservateurs, mais souhaité par les réformateurs. Le brouillard s'épaissit.
Que faut-il penser de ces différentes positions ? Le quinquennat est-il une bonne ou une mauvaise chose ? Que change-t-il vraiment ? Telles sont les questions que se posent les citoyens. Cette nouvelle édition y répond, à la fois par une confrontation de la Cinquième République aux grandes démocraties qui l'entourent et au regard des débats les plus actuels.

Olivier Duhamel, professeur des Universités à Sciences Po, directeur de la revue Pouvoirs, chroniqueur à France-Culture et à LCI, a participé aux comités Vedel (1993) et Balladur (2007) sur la révision de la Constitution.




Nous Vous Suggérons Aussi

Le Vote de rupture
Les élections présidentielle et législatives d'avril-juin 2007
Pascal Perrineau

Collection

Bibliothèque du citoyen

Sujets

Science politique : Politique française
Politique

Suivez-nous