Le Biais comportementaliste

Le Biais comportementaliste

Behavioralist bias

A whole series of cognitive biases prevent us from making rational decisions: conformity, aversion to loss, excessive self-esteem, preference for the short-term, etc.

In many countries, governments have adopted this credo, promoted by economists and behavioral psychologists, in order to guide individuals' choices. It is therefore standard practice to consider individuals potential organ donors by default, children are kept away from junk food in school canteens, flies are stuck to urinals to help men improve their aim, speed detectors frown or smile at us, and we are told that we recycle less than our neighbors….

These "nudges" toward good behavior use individuals' cognitive bias to modify their behavior without them needing to think, or even understand the stakes. Easy to implement and inexpensive, they have become the alpha and omega of resolving social problems, whether in terms of environment, health, finance or tax.

Yet is it not just as biased to reduce these issues to a matter of individual behavior? We need a critical analysis of behavioral knowledge and its applications, in order to understand its success and explore its limitations.



Sophie Dubuisson-Quellier

Sophie Dubuisson-Quellier is a research director in sociology at the CNRS and associate director of the Centre de sociologie des organisations de Sciences Po (CSO, CNRS). She recently edited Gouverner les conduites, published by the Presses de Sciences Po (2016).



La Consommation engagée
2e édition entièrement actualisée
Militant consumerism
Second Edition revised and updated
Sophie Dubuisson-Quellier
Maintaining an ambiguous relationship with the market, being both opposed to and within it, militant consumerism is now a powerful movement, capable of influencing governments, legislators and economic actors.



Gouverner les conduites
Regulating Behaviour
Sophie Dubuisson-Quellier
"Eat smart, be smart", "Reduce, Reuse, Recycle", "Same medicine, same results", "Smoking kills"… A critical attempt at deciphering an increasingly widespread form of governance, where individual behaviour becomes a space for public intervention.











Also of interest

La logique du désordre
Relire la sociologie de Michel Dobry
The Logic of Chaos
Revisiting the sociology of Michel Dobry
Myriam Aït-Aoudia, Antoine Roger

Series

Essai

Subjects

Society
Sociology

Connect with us

Le Biais comportementaliste

Le Biais comportementaliste

Toute une série de biais cognitifs nous empêchent de prendre des décisions rationnelles : conformisme, aversion pour la perte, surestime de soi, préférence pour le court terme, etc. Ce crédo des économistes et des psychologues comportementalistes a été repris à leur compte par les pouvoirs publics de nombreux pays, afin d'orienter les choix de leurs concitoyens. Nous sommes ainsi considérés comme des donneurs d'organes par défaut, nos enfants sont tenus à distance des frites dans les cantines, les détecteurs de vitesse nous font la grimace ou nous sourient, on nous informe que nous recyclons moins que le voisin…

Faciles à mettre en œuvre, peu onéreux, ces nudges (de l'anglais « pousser du coude »), qui nous font modifier nos comportements sans que nous ayons à y réfléchir, sont devenus l’alpha et l’omega de la résolution des problèmes de société. Mais peut-on réduire l’action publique à une affaire de comportements individuels ?

Une analyse critique des savoirs comportementaux et de leur application s’impose, afin d’en comprendre le succès et d’en montrer les limites.



Sophie Dubuisson-Quellier

Sophie Dubuisson-Quellier est directrice de recherche en sociologie au CNRS et directrice adjointe du Centre de sociologie des organisations de Sciences Po (CSO, CNRS). Elle a notamment dirigé Gouverner les conduites, aux Presses de Sciences Po (2016).



La Consommation engagée
2e édition entièrement actualisée
Sophie Dubuisson-Quellier
Sophie Dubuisson-Quellier retrace l'histoire de la consommation engagée, qui s'impose aujourd'hui comme un mouvement puissant, capable d’influencer les gouvernements, les législateurs et les acteurs économiques.



Gouverner les conduites
Sophie Dubuisson-Quellier
« Manger, bouger », « J'éco-rénove, j'économise », « Les médicaments génériques, c'est génial »… Que fait l'État lorsqu’il s’immisce dans nos vies privées et cherche à orienter nos pratiques ? A-t-il une légitimité pour le faire ? Quels sont les acteurs et les instruments de ce gouvernement des conduites ? Comment les intéressés réagissent-ils ?











Nous Vous Suggérons Aussi

Agir pour ne pas mourir !
Act up, les homosexuels et le sida
Christophe Broqua

Collection

Hors collection

Sujets

Sociologie

Suivez-nous