Milices armées d'Asie du Sud

Milices armées d'Asie du Sud

Privatisation de la violence et implication des États
Laurent Gayer, Christophe Jaffrelot
Armed Militias of South Asia
The privatization of violence and the implications for states

The number of victims of civil wars, guerrillas or military repressions has not ceased to increase on the Indian subcontinent, despite the absence of interurban wars for the last ten years. These conflicts implicate militias of a paramilitary style, whose ideologies, sociology and strategies are unveiled by this work.

Quite influential in India and in Nepal, Maoist organizations call themselves revolutionaries. But the peoples they aspire to liberate are often composed of the lowest castes and of tribal groups, their guerillas thereby appearing more ethnic than universalist.

They join in with the national emancipation movements whose aim is to obtain political independence for linguistic, religious, or tribal groups. But in Sri Lanka, in Kashmir or in Burma, these groups are also movements of national oppression.

It is already the case for nationalist or religious movements in India, Pakistan and Bangladesh, where Islamic, Nationalist Hindu, or Sikh militias exert a brutal control over their communities, which are in the middle of a veritable police culture.

Militias and states foster complex relations. Sometimes they become veritable states within the State, the militias equally institutionalized by public powers for relaying their authority on the local level.

Laurent Gayer is a Researcher at the CSH (New Delhi Center of Human Sciences), and Associate Researcher at CEIAS (Center of Indian and South Asian Studies).
Christophe Jaffrelot is Director of Research at CNRS and Director of the CERI (Center of International Studies and Research) at Sciences Po.
Contributors to this work: Mariam Abou Zahab, Amélie Blom, Gilles Boquérat, Jérémie Codron, Renaud Egreteau, Nicolas Jaoul, Chris Smith.




Also of interest

Philosophie des relations internationales
Philosophy of International Relations
Frédéric Ramel

Series

Académique

Subjects

International : Asia
International field

Connect with us

Milices armées d'Asie du Sud

Milices armées d'Asie du Sud

Privatisation de la violence et implication des États

Le nombre de victimes de guerres civiles, guérillas ou répressions militaires ne cesse d'augmenter dans le sous-continent indien, malgré l’absence de guerres interétatiques depuis dix ans. Ces conflits impliquent des milices au style paramilitaire, dont cet ouvrage dévoile l’idéologie, la sociologie et les stratégies.

Très influentes en Inde et au Népal, les organisations maoïstes se disent révolutionnaires. Mais le peuple qu’elles aspirent à libérer se compose souvent de basses castes et de tribus, si bien que leur guérilla apparaît plus ethnique qu’universaliste.

Elles rejoignent en cela les mouvements d’émancipation nationale dont la vocation est d’obtenir l’indépendance politique de communautés linguistiques, religieuses ou tribales. Mais, au Sri Lanka, au Cachemire ou en Birmanie, ces groupes sont aussi des mouvements d’oppression nationale.

C’est encore le cas des mouvements nationalistes ou religieux en Inde, au Pakistan et au Bangladesh, où les milices islamistes, nationalistes hindoues ou sikhes exercent un contrôle brutal sur leur communauté au moyen d’une véritable police culturelle.

Milices et États entretiennent des relations complexes. Parfois en passe de devenir de véritables États dans l’État, les milices sont également instrumentalisées par les puissances publiques pour relayer leur autorité au niveau local.




Nous Vous Suggérons Aussi

Critique internationale 38, janvier - mars 2008
Les chemins de la globalisation culturelle
et al.

Collection

Académique

Sujets

Monde & sociétés : Asie

Suivez-nous