L'expérience démocratique en Algérie (1988-1992)

L'expérience démocratique en Algérie (1988-1992)

Apprentissages politiques et changement de régime
The Algerian Democratic Experiment (1988-1992)
Political lessons and regime change

More than twenty years before the 'Arab Spring', Algeria's single-party regime suddenly collapsed, giving way to a multi-party system. How did the region’s first democratic experiment come about? And how did it fail, a mere three years later?

This work outlines the trajectory of that democratic process, working with a corpus of unparalleled size and scope: interviews with the leaders of the major political parties (FLN, FIS, RCD, FFS), ministers and generals, as well as local and departmental civil servants; numerous original archives (from the FIS and the Ministry of the Interior in particular), press documentation and legal texts. It describes how new political rules were implemented and how qualified actors were selected to participate in the electoral contest, as well as the various attempts to establish a pluralist political system, characterised by an oscillation between trust and distrust.

As an experiment in democratic change, where all the conditions necessary for such a transition were tested, the Algerian example was not the linear product of a regime crisis: on the contrary, Algerian democracy was the outcome of an erratic and unpredictable process, each phase of which produced new configurations of actors who were all caught up in a larger dynamic mastered by no one.

This book provides crucial insight into Algeria’s unique position, as well as its 'stability’ during the ‘Arab Spring’. It likewise offers a more informed perspective on the current events unfolding in the Arab world.

L'expérience démocratique en Algérie (1988-1992)

L'expérience démocratique en Algérie (1988-1992)

Apprentissages politiques et changement de régime

Plus de vingt ans avant le « printemps arabe », le régime du parti unique s'est subitement effondré en Algérie pour laisser place à un système pluripartisan. Comment cette première expérience démocratique de la région s'est-elle organisée ? Et comment a-t-elle échoué trois ans plus tard ?

L'ouvrage reconstitue ce processus, à partir d'un matériau d'une ampleur inégalée : entretiens avec les responsables des principaux partis politiques (FLN, FIS, RCD, FFS), des ministres, des généraux, des fonctionnaires locaux et départementaux ; décryptage de nombreuses archives originales (du FIS et du ministère de l’Intérieur notamment), de la presse et de textes juridiques. Il retrace la mise en place des nouvelles règles du jeu politique, la sélection des acteurs habilités à participer à la compétition électorale, les apprentissages politiques soutenant la construction d’un système partisan pluraliste, les alternances de confiance et de méfiance.

Tel un laboratoire du changement démocratique, où s’éprouvèrent toutes les conditions nécessaires à ce passage, l’expérience algérienne n’a résulté ni d’un simple basculement, ni d’une évolution linéaire consécutive à une crise de régime. Mais plutôt d’un processus erratique et imprévisible livrant à chaque étape de nouvelles configurations d’acteurs pris collectivement dans une dynamique que personne ne maîtrisait.

Un livre clé pour comprendre la place singulière de l’Algérie ainsi que sa « stabilité » lors des « révolutions arabes ». Une grille d’analyse pour porter un regard plus averti sur les bouleversements actuels du monde arabe.