L'Élite des politiques de l'État

L'Élite des politiques de l'État

The Elite of State Politics

What happens behind the formal authorities of power (the president and ministers)? How and by whom are the new programs of public politics defined? These are the interrogations that guide this inquiry, leading to the heart of decision making processes, and centering on the role of high functionaries and members of administrative cabinets.

William Genieys advances the thesis of the emergence of a state political elite. Solidly institutionalized and very specialized, these groups of actors observed in the sectors of defense and social protection are mobilized around their vision of public politics and act in order to safeguard "the" model of social security or still yet of French style defense.

Fifty years after the denunciation of the misdeeds of The Power Elite on the healthy functioning of American democracy by Charles Wright Mills, this work reopens the debate. Contrary to the dominant theses on the “end of the State” in the context of globalization and the European built economy, the political elite is in the process of giving institutional advantage back to the State.

William Genieys directs CNRS research at the Center of Political Studies of Latin Europe (Cepel). He teaches comparative politics and the sociologie of elites at the University Montpellier I. He is an equal co-director of the Political Science review South Pole.




Also of interest

Gouverner les conduites
Regulating Behaviour
Sophie Dubuisson-Quellier

Series

Académique

Subjects

The State - Government : French Government
Political Science : Governance
Political Science : Public Policy

Connect with us

L'Élite des politiques de l'État

L'Élite des politiques de l'État

Que se passe-t-il derrière les autorités formelles du pouvoir (président et ministres) ? Comment et par qui sont définis les nouveaux programmes de politiques publiques ? Telles sont les interrogations qui guident cette enquête menée au cœur des processus de prise de décision, et centrée sur le rôle des hauts fonctionnaires et membres des cabinets ministériels.

William Genieys avance la thèse de l’émergence d’une élite des politiques de l’État. Fortement institutionnalisés et très spécialisés, ces groupes d’acteurs observés dans les secteurs de la défense et de la protection sociale sont mobilisés autour de leur vision des politiques publiques et agissent pour sauvegarder « le » modèle de la sécurité sociale ou encore de la défense à la française.

Cinquante ans après la dénonciation des méfaits de L’élite du pouvoir sur le bon fonctionnement de la démocratie américaine par Charles Wright Mills, cet ouvrage ouvre à nouveau le débat. à contre-courant des thèses dominantes sur la « fin de l’État » dans le cadre de la mondialisation de l’économie et de la construction européenne, l’élite des politiques est en passe de redonner l’avantage institutionnel à l’État.




Nous Vous Suggérons Aussi

Europe centrale et orientale
Mondialisation, européanisation et changement social
François Bafoil

Collection

Académique

Sujets

Etat - Administration : Administration française
Science politique : Gouvernances
Science politique : Politiques publiques

Suivez-nous