Carl Schmitt, penseur de l'État

Carl Schmitt, penseur de l'État

Genèse d'une doctrine
Carl Schmitt, philosopher on the State
Genesis of a doctrine

  • Prix de français de la Société académique vaudoise

Carl Schmitt's doctrine of the State, often forsaken in favor of other facets of his work, still constitutes the place where his theories on politics and the Constitution are incarnate. Here the German legal practitioner describes the institutional overthrow experienced by the Germany of the 20th century. In 1914, he still thought of the State in terms of conformity to legality, just as during the fall of the empire, he did not consider state bodies except in the context of their use of judgement and their aptitude for confronting exceptional situations.

With a new perspective, starting with a systematic study of his writings regarding the State, this reference work relies on the political theology of Schmitt, his anti-individualism, as his unique definition of politics, to his propositions to remake institutions.

The reconstruction of his doctrine of the State, clarifies for a new era the confrontation between his followers and his adversaries and explains, despite the Carl Schmitt’s greedy compromises with Nazism, the persistance of his thinking in the intellectual world after Nuremberg.

Sandrine Baume teaches political philosophy and the history of political ideas at the University Lausanne.




Also of interest

La constellation des appartenances
Nationalisme, libéralisme et pluralisme
The Politics of Belonging
Nationalism, Liberalism, and Pluralism
Alain Dieckhoff

Series

Académique

Subjects

History : History by period
Political Science : Political facts
Political Science : Political Thought

Connect with us

Carl Schmitt, penseur de l'État

Carl Schmitt, penseur de l'État

Genèse d'une doctrine
  • Prix de français de la Société académique vaudoise

La doctrine de l’État de Carl Schmitt, souvent délaissée au profit d’autres facettes de son œuvre, constitue pourtant le lieu où s’incarnent ses théories du politique et de la Constitution. Le juriste allemand y consigne les bouleversements institutionnels traversés par l’Allemagne au xxe siècle. En 1914, il pense encore l’État dans sa conformité à la légalité, alors qu’à la chute de l’Empire, il ne considère les organes étatiques que dans leur usage de la décision et leur aptitude à affronter les situations d’exception.

Dans une perspective inédite, à partir d’une étude systématique de ses écrits relatifs à l’État, cet ouvrage relie la théologie politique de Schmitt, son anti-individualisme, comme sa définition singulière du politique, à ses propositions de refonte des institutions.

La reconstitution de sa doctrine de l’État éclaire d’un jour nouveau l’affrontement entre ses partisans et ses adversaires et explique, malgré les compromissions avérées de Carl Schmitt avec le nazisme, la persistance de sa pensée dans la vie intellectuelle après Nuremberg.





Nous Vous Suggérons Aussi

Vingtième Siècle 41 (1994-1)
La guerre 1914-1918. Essais d'histoire culturelle

Collection

Académique

Sujets

Science politique : Fait politique
Histoire : Histoire par période
Science politique : Théorie politique

Suivez-nous