Les CDI dans la tourmente

Les CDI dans la tourmente

Entre loyauté et désarroi
The Torment of the Independent Contractor
Between loyalty and distress

Symptoms of the consternation of independent contractors haven't abated in an atmosphere where the shadows of unemployment and vulnerability stretch ever larger. Nevertheless, let's not make a diagnosis in the absence of illness, be it in the workplace or the occasional radical protest: salaried employes of large corporations who until now have been perceived as barriers to the hiring of independent contractors haven't entered into the fray.

Much sought after by big business, independent contractors play the game, but harshly criticize the ways changes are implemented by the management. Yet, managers aren't seen as the focus of public protests: discontinued and ambivalent, these struggles are seen as "alternatives."

Effectively, the loyalty of salaried workers seems thus paradoxical as it excludes neither temporary unemployment nor protest. But the tie to work is lived through the experience, or personal value, of each individual involved.

Fundamentally, independent contractors of today for the most part take positive ownership of a condition that is of their making. Yet they lack the "benefits" which would allow them to forge a new identity for themselves and to build collective solidarity.




Also of interest

Sociologies pratiques 35, 2017
La formation continue, entre droit personnel et injonction sociale

Series

Nouveaux Débats

Subjects

Business : Corporate governance
Business : Sociology of work
Society

Connect with us

Les CDI dans la tourmente

Les CDI dans la tourmente

Entre loyauté et désarroi
David Mélo

Les indices d'un désarroi des CDI n'ont cessé de s'accumuler dans un contexte où l’ombre portée du chômage et de la précarité s’étend. Ne nous trompons pas cependant de diagnostic devant la souffrance au travail et les mobilisations parfois radicales : les salariés des grandes entreprises jusqu’ici perçues comme protectrices ne sont pas entrés en dissidence.

Aspirés par leur entreprise, ils sont disposés à jouer le jeu, mais critiquent durement les modalités de mise en œuvre des mutations imposées par le management. Pourtant, ces dernières ne forment pas l’enjeu de mobilisations collectives : discontinues et ambivalentes, les luttes se présentent comme « alternatives ».

Réelle, la loyauté des salariés apparaît donc paradoxale car elle n’exclut ni retrait temporaire ni protestation. Mais le rapport au travail s’éprouve dans l’expérience, où c’est la valeur personnelle de chacun qui est en jeu.

Fondamentalement, les CDI d’aujourd’hui sont en quête d’une appropriation positive de la condition qui leur est faite. Or il leur manque les « prises » qui leur permettraient de se forger une nouvelle identité d’eux-mêmes et de constituer des collectifs solidaires.