Le Vote normal

Le Vote normal

Les élections présidentielle et législatives d'avril-mai-juin 2012
Normal Votes
The Presidential and Legislative Elections of April, May and June 2012

The presidential and legislative elections that took place during April, May and June 2012 led to the expression of a 'normal vote'.
Normal, if we use the meaning that this word was given in the 1960s by the American political scientist Philip Converse: when no circumstantial political force abruptly turns voters against a victory that has been expected for several years (in this case, the Left’s victory).

Normal, in the sense that one of the presidential candidates, François Hollande, compared this political situation with the ‘abnormal’ or ‘non-standard’ behaviour of his successive challengers, Dominique Strauss-Kahn and Nicolas Sarkozy. Normal, finally, because 2012’s sanction vote dealt a major blow to both the outgoing president and his legislators, much like in other European countries also experiencing the crisis.

Will such political ‘normality’ be tenable over the course of a presidential term? Would a ‘normal presidency’ grow inopportune when its authority and majority rule ultimately face major difficulties and an unusual set of circumstances?




Also of interest

La violence révolutionnaire
Revolutionary Violence
Isabelle Sommier

Series

Chroniques électorales

Subjects

Political Science : Political facts
Political Science : Political Life

Connect with us

Le Vote normal

Le Vote normal

Les élections présidentielle et législatives d'avril-mai-juin 2012
Avec Marilyn Augé, Pierre Avril, Daniel Boy, Frédérik Cassor, Bruno Cautrès, Flora Chanvril, Jean Chiche, Elisabeth Dupoirier, Odile Gaultier-Voituriez, Christine Gire, Gérard Grunberg, Jérôme Jaffré, Karolina Koc Michalska, Laurence Morel, Anne Muxel, Christophe Piar, Luc Rouban, Sylvie Strudel, Gauthier Vaillant, Thierry Vedel

Les élections présidentielle et législatives d'avril-mai-juin 2012 ont abouti à l'expression d'un « vote normal ».

Normal, au sens indiqué dès les années 1960 par le politiste américain Philip Converse, quand aucune force politique de circonstance ne parvient à détourner le vote d'une victoire annoncée depuis plusieurs années, en l'occurrence celle de la gauche. Normal, parce que l'un des candidats à la présidentielle, François Hollande, a opposé cette posture politique au comportement « anormal » ou « hors normes » de ses challengers successifs : Dominique Strauss-Kahn et Nicolas Sarkozy. Normal, enfin, parce que le vote sanction de 2012 a frappé de plein fouet le législatif et l'exécutif sortants, comme dans tous les pays européens en crise.

Une telle « normalité » politique sera-t-elle tenable sur la durée de l'exercice présidentiel ? Une « présidence normale » est-elle une erreur de tempo dès lors que le pouvoir et sa majorité sont confrontés à des difficultés majeures et à une conjoncture hors du commun ?

Ont également contribué à cet ouvrage : Marilyn Augé • Pierre Avril • Daniel Boy • Frédérik Cassor • Bruno Cautrès • Flora Chanvril • Jean Chiche • Élisabeth Dupoirier • Odile Gaultier-Voituriez • Christine Gire • Gérard Grunberg • Jérôme Jaffré • Karolina Koc Michalska • Laurence Morel • Anne Muxel • Christophe Piar • Luc Rouban • Sylvie Strudel • Gauthier Vaillant • Thierry Vedel




Nous Vous Suggérons Aussi

Le vote européen 2004-2005
De l'élargissement au référendum français
Pascal Perrineau

Collection

Chroniques électorales

Sujets

Science politique : Fait politique
Science politique : Vie politique

Suivez-nous